Blue
    2002 WS-6

Alum Polishing HELP

HELP........... here is the deal, some of you have seen the parts I made from alum. I have tried everthing I know to get a mirror finish. I still see a good amount of scratches.

Here is what I did so far: wetsanded all the parts with 320, 400, 600, 1000, and finally 1500 grit. I purchased from Home Depot (4) buffing pads, (2) hard & (2) soft. I also bought there buffing compounds Sticks which range from Hard buff to a finish buff. They have them numbered from 1 to 5. I also bought a white rouge compound and used if on a new soft wheel. Hand polished with Mothers and Blue Star polishing compounds. I'm missing something, it's not the bright finish I'm looking for........ I need help from the experts...............

The picture looks good but.......

Any thought or advice would be greatly Appreciated

Bill

00 TA PWTR, 98 VertTA NBM
    80 TA BLK, 80 Formula NBM

im no profession but have done my fair share of aluminum polishing . . . i find that the 1000 grit range is the most important for getting that mirror shine . . . then maybe finish up with 2000 if your not getting that desired shine. Ive piddled with the rouges but couldn't ever get comfortable with the results, so after im done wetsanding i go straight to mothers. Maybe you need to use the mothers on a cotton goblet in a drill or on a buff pad, then hand polish after. Also, ive heard much praise that mothers billet being amazing, myself i haven't noticed much difference between it and regular, but you may try it.

Blue
    2002 WS-6

Thanks for the reply........anyone else

"Arrest Me Red"
    2001 trans am

take a look at the eastwood com and see what they have to offer. they have kits for this stuff. i know you need to start with a cuting compound as i have bine told them move to the buffing compounds. here is a link to the start of the buffing area of the eastwood cat.
    http://www.eastwoodco.com/jump.jsp?i...ORY&itemID=432