black
    2004 gto

Talking what exactly is a m6

what is a m6 gto ??? im new to the ls1 world i know a little but not much so someone school meee

04 Cobra 'vert - M6 mysti
    02 WS6 coupe - A4 red

M6 is shorthand for a manual 6-speed. As opposed to an A4 automatic 4-speed. Don't worry, took me a while to get that as well. Kept thinking it was some sub-model identifier...

black
    2004 gto

yea me too lol thanks for clearing that up for me but is it better to have a m6 or a4

02 WS6 coupe - A4 red

Quote Originally Posted by burnsxxxls1 View Post
    yea me too lol thanks for clearing that up for me but is it better to have a m6 or a4
    It mostly depends on what you want. Many people prefer the m6 for the 'feel' of it. My last TA was an m6 and I certainly loved it. Also, you'll get better mileage with an M6 than an A4, escpecially on the highway.

But for the track, I understand that an automatic can be better, as it's more consistent in its shifting. My current TA is an A4, and maybe it's just because I am getting older, but it's nice to just be able to drive without constantly shifting, especially in stop and go traffic.

I think you might have to take a little better care of an automatic transmission to make it last. Change the fluid at the right intervals, maybe add a cooler, or a shift kit and tune shift settings.

But of course on the M6 the clutch will go sooner or later as well, so they probably balance out.

black
    2004 gto

what kind of shift kit would be the best and how hard are they to install cause me and my bro rebuilt the trans in a 1999 explorer took a week tho lol

02 WS6 coupe - A4 red

Quote Originally Posted by burnsxxxls1 View Post
    what kind of shift kit would be the best and how hard are they to install cause me and my bro rebuilt the trans in a 1999 explorer took a week tho lol