Thread: transcooler

o4goatman

red
    04 gto A/T

transcooler

I was in a middle of installing B & M transcooler but the fitting to the inlet line & to the radiator fitting is too small. The dealer nor Napa has a size specification for the fitting. Does anyone know size of the male & female fittings to the inlet trans cooler line to 04 GTO A/T ?

Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

-6 AN fitting for me.

o4goatman

red
    04 gto A/T

Pardon me for my ignorance, I am new to this -6 is the size ? And I can get this from any autoparts store ?

Silver
    05 Goat SMASHED

-6 is a AN size. If you don't have access to a speed shop maybe you'll have a custom motor cycle shop that will be able to help you with fittings. If not Summit or Jegs.
    The AN thread is a particular type of fitting used to connect flexible hoses and rigid metal tubing that carry fluid. It is a US military-derived specification stemming from a joint standard agreed upon by the Air Force and Navy, hence AN.

AN sizes range from -2 (dash two) to -32 in irregular steps, with each step equating to the OD (outside diameter) of the tubing in 1/16" increments. Therefore, a -8 AN size would be equal to 1/2" OD tube (8 x 1/16 = 1/2). However, this system does not specify the ID (inside diameter) of the tubing because the tube wall can vary in thickness. Each AN size also uses its own standard thread size.

AN fittings are a flare fitting, using 37° flared tubing to form a metal-metal seal. They are similar to other 37° flared fittings, such as JIC fittings, which is their industrial variant. The two are interchangeable in theory, though this is typically not recommended due to the exacting specifications and demands of the aerospace industry. The differences between them relate to thread class (how tight a fit the threads are) and the metals used.

Note that 37° AN and 45° SAE fittings and tooling are not interchangible due to the different flaring angles. Mixing them can cause leakage at the flare