Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

Lets talk starters

you first.
    Nah I think mine is getting tired. I see rebuilt ones.....are there any MSD hi torque starters mebbe? I think this will also work but not sure....
    http://www.s10v8.com/store/product_i...products_id/63
    I'm just getting started looking for starters

98 Formula
    06 duramax

I would wonder why that one is so cheap.... the stock starters are some torque monsters to begin with. I wouldn't worry about the lack of torque.

Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

I may be heat soaking.....I'll have to double check the grounding strap between the block and the frame....just dawned on me....it came loose one time awhile back and made it crank slower when hot ( resistance and all that).......HHHmmmmmmmm...

98 Formula
    06 duramax

you can also either buy or fab up a heat shield for the starter if heat becomes an issue. You throw a set of LT's down there and that starter does take a beating. The f-bodies are the same way. In order to fit those headers in there they run awful close to the starter. Look and see if you put a heat shield in there and that should prolong the life for a while. MSD's that I've found are all in the $250-$280 range and even a duralast is $250.....makes me wonder why this one is $90.

Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

Yeah the starter is wrapped with heat shield.....but the wires get hotter than hell or if you have a shitty ground a starter will do the slow crank when hot also.....guess i gotta get my XXXL ass under there and see.....Seems hard to believe the old girl is five years old....

98 Formula
    06 duramax

Quote Originally Posted by Sarge View Post
    Yeah the starter is wrapped with heat shield.....but the wires get hotter than hell or if you have a shitty ground a starter will do the slow crank when hot also.....guess i gotta get my XXXL ass under there and see.....Seems hard to believe the old girl is five years old....