Red
    1979 MALIBU, SBC T56.

What the fudge!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Alright. I put a new (ebay) opti on yesterday with a new water pump. The last pump leaked and killed my old opti. I can work on my car with my eyes closed so the following story puzzles me. I have a 95 Roadmaster with a .030 over lt1, aluminum heads, SLP headers, intake yada yada. Car fired on the second crank and idled great. It still throws the SES light on and off and when I had it scanned it before all this it showed 34 mass/map, but for all intents and purposes runs fine. Pulls like a frieght train!!!! Drove it around and bled the air from the cooling system and put her to bed for the night. Well, this morning since it was 30 and snowing I started it up to let her warm and it idled like $HIT. Wouldn't rev and popped and blew dark gray smoke from the pipes and backfired like crazy. I let it idle and opened the hood and when I set my right hand on the intake boot and used my thumb to rev the engine I distinctly felt a mild shock everytime I touched the throttle body. WTF? O.K. I'm thinkin' bad coil connection or wire is loose. I check everything and all is tight. So I swapped out the entire coil and module since I have a spare. Still running like trash. AAAAAAAAAAUGHH!! O.K. It still idles fine but won't rev without popping and cracking. I had a spare IAC and put it on. Now it turns over but won't start. PERIOD. So on goes the old IAC, same thing. No start. I checked for fuel pressure and I hear the pump prime but it trickled out of the schrader valve not squirt like I had assumed. I need to put a fuel pressure guage on it but at this point I'm to effing pissed off. My friend bought an eBay opti and the car ran for like 40 seconds and died. I have used them too and had great reults. I have a used GM one here I could try and swap over the cap n rotor too. But I really don't want to go through all that again even though I can do the swap in under an hour. HELP PLEASE.

Red
    1979 MALIBU, SBC T56.