Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wet Carpet

Maple Red Metallic
    2002 Trans Am M6

Wet Carpet

Hey guys, I need some help.I hope this is in the right section, but I have soaking wet carpet on just the driver side and I don't know where it came from. I'm gonna look into it, but what I really need help on is the floor pan. I ripped up some of the carpet and I found rust underneath. I know to sand it down, but what would be best to cover it so it doesn't rust up again? Someone mentioned undercoating the floorpan on the driverside, but i'm new to it so i'm not sure. Plus it'll be a while before I can afford new carpet, maybe I could just undercoat it instead of carpet. So do you guys think doing that would work? Or is there something else that'd be better that I could do?

Bat mobile black
    2000 Trans am WS6 M6

You could grind off the rust and spray some primer over it to keep it from re rusting.

Black/ Silver
    98 TA WS6/ 01 C5 Corvette

I forget what it is called but when I was helping my dad restore a 71 spitfire we used this stuff that you sprayed on the rust and it got rid of it as long as it's not rusted through and we also use bondo and then had everything painted over.

Black
    2000 WS6 Trans AM

I'd be a little more concerned on where the water is coming from? sounds like it might be a heater core leaking and running down to your driver side floor.

Maple Red Metallic
    2002 Trans Am M6

Quote Originally Posted by 1998 T/A View Post
    I'd be a little more concerned on where the water is coming from? sounds like it might be a heater core leaking and running down to your driver side floor.