Pewter
    2001 Trans Am

new 01 trans am questions

So I just got a new to me 01 T.A. R.A. WS6 mint condition with about 40k miles on it. I want to get some extra performance out of it without dropping 10k or some insane amount on the car.

First off I'm not a car expert I know enough to understand whats going on with engine functions and am pretty good at looking stuff up to better understand. I'm not up to speed on all the engine abbreviations and such either.

So to begin all of my friends who are very car savy have told me that its almost a sin to own a F-body without after market cams and heads. Is there merit to this and if so whats a good set to look at and general price?

I see some guys on here talking about bolt ons most of them im not sure what they are, giving about 3-5 hp each. Is 3-5 horsepower worth a couple hundred bucks or so?

From the research I've done on the web just reprogramming the computer or getting a new "chip" can make all the noticeable difference in the world. I figure you guys would know the most about it.

In general I'm really looking for the biggest bang for my buck, to get my TA sounding and running its best. Any addition info you could add to my research would be greatly appreciated.

Black
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am A4

I'm kinda like you, I have basic knowledge of cars but I'm not looking to do any major modifications or spend huge amounts of money. I'm just planning on doing my exhaust (which is partially done), ram air hood (on order), new intake, computer reprogram, and eventually maybe headers. Where are you located in Indiana?
    1998 Trans Am, A4, SLP Loudmouth I, US Exotics WS9 ram air hood, Volant intake, 3.23's, 70k miles

Pewter
    2001 Trans Am

I'll spend money on it if its a great cost efficient upgrade I don't mind. I just like to get some info and opinions of the guys here who know a hell of a lot more than I do. Im just north of terre haute

Black
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am A4