Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Red
    2000 Pontiac TransAm WS6

Injection Cleaner

My car is reading off some codes after taking it to Autozone and they said it might be the MAF i figure i might check with my mechanic before purchasing a new one. He said the first thing to do is to do an injection cleaner and is charging me 120.00, is that fair. Would i be better off taking it to someone else or possibly doing it myself. I dont mind paying the 120.00, but i already have to pay him 713.00 to get my AC fixed and im currently a full time student so i dont have much money. I would appreciate some advice.

Blackened fire chicken
    2000 Pontiac Trans Am WS6

Quote Originally Posted by edrvsqz1980 View Post
    My car is reading off some codes after taking it to Autozone and they said it might be the MAF i figure i might check with my mechanic before purchasing a new one. He said the first thing to do is to do an injection cleaner and is charging me 120.00, is that fair. Would i be better off taking it to someone else or possibly doing it myself. I dont mind paying the 120.00, but i already have to pay him 713.00 to get my AC fixed and im currently a full time student so i dont have much money. I would appreciate some advice.
    hell no thats not fair! buy a bottle of injector cleaner and do it yourself man! youll save $100! if you maf is bad, get an slp maf

Red
    2000 Pontiac TransAm WS6

Would i be able to purchase it at autozone? Any brand recommendation.

Yellow
    02 CETA#732

Thumbs down

I agree with godless-phoenix, those $100+ cleaning services are usually unnecessary, I've had good results from Chevron's Techron cleaner in a bottle, kind of pricey at $11 each and best to use it twice back-to-back, but made noticable improvement and exhaust tips even showed that it appeared to be blowing-out some carbon.

Yellow
    02 CETA#732

Also I think the codes should be able to identify specifically if it's maf failure or not.