black
    01 ws6

First Trans Am 1999 - some questions

Im about to buy it this week - its selling for 13,000, Red, T-Top, V8, 6 speed, 54,000 miles, leather, sounds like a good deal?

Questions I had

Best Place to get a ram air hood? (Cheapest functional hood)
    What maintenance should I be looking for?
    Should I get the warranty with it?

My gramps has his own auto shop - and is willing to help teach fix most of the things on my car - gets discounts and everything, but im going to buy it first then show it to him. Im in San Diego, Ca.

Thanks in advanced!

Red
    99 Trans Am, M6

I'm far from an expert, but rather than spending 700 on a hood and another x-amount on a ram air setup that makes the hood functional, go for the Flowpac induction kit by SLP, the intake setup acts as a ram air, good for 25hp they advertise....I just isntalled that plus a magnaflow exhaust on my 99 T/A 6spd, and it's a big difference.. though i gotta say the WS6 hood is perrrrty.

SLP FLOWPAC around $275
    Magnaflow Exhaust around $420

Install time 3-6 hours depending on skill level.

99FRC,00TA,98Formula
    91Firebird,88FieroGT

that seems like a good price, especially in southern california. you can get an ram air hood from some of the sponsors, or on Ebay, theres always a few there. I would get a professional auto inspector to check everything over on the car, or take it to a mechanic to make sure everything is sound in the engine.

Detailing + Design third_shift|studios's Avatar

My life is a
    Ben Stiller movie.

check all the electronics. stupid shit you over look could be
    window motor
    interior lights/radio
    lock/unlock
    rear defrost
    exterior lights/flip up headlights

listen/feel for smooth trannyshifts
    look for black rubber on the inside rear wells [indicative of previous owner doing major burn outs, posibbly causing other issues in the car]
    any clicking/knocking from the rear differential