Black
    2002 Trans Am WS6

Buying Trans Am - what to look for?

i'm thinking about buying a 2001 WS6 Trans Am i found (with 19,500 original miles!). what should i be looking for? i've already checked the Carfax (it's clean), but is there anything else you experts think i should be checking out on the car (good or bad)?

i'm going to look at it tomorrow, so any help would definitely be appreciated

Artic White
    2002 Ws6

well i am no expert but i had went and looked at a 02 ws6 and the carfax was also clean. BUT when i opened the doors you could see the tape marks on the inside of the door trim showing it had been painted once before and he would never confess that it had but i had my friend with me who paints cars for a living and he is the one who noticed it. That told me that it had been wrecked and just not turned in. So in other words i would say check all the jams for any sign of painting. Just a thought

blacker than wesleysnipes
    98' trans am

look for dents in the fender, check for linement in the door lines and make sure the t-tops fit nice..(all stuff caused by the frame bending...happens alot espec. when driving hard and taking corners fast..like me ) check rear end..make sure the fluid isn't dripping on the floor. um take it out for a test drive and make sure everything shifts smooth..it should with 19xxx on it. Oh and check the a/c condensor..hopes this help.

Red
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am

when the car runs, throw a couple of revs. If you hear a loud ticking noise from the valvetrain that increases in speed as the revs go up and decreases when the throttle comes down, then the pushrods are bent. Use your finger's between the door gaps to check for any find of misalignment. Tape marks is a good thing to check, but check aroudn the emblems, if you see the paint seems a little weird, it's been repainted. Take it for a test drive and see if it runs smooth or rough at idle and cruise. Listen for any weird noises, loud rearend or a loose suspension