green
    1996 firebird convertable

Smile '96 Firebird Engine removal

Hi all,,,I'm new to thi site so please excuse me if this question has come up before.
    I have a '96 Firebird convertable with the V6,,,which is knocking badly and needs to be removed. My question is - what is the best way to do this? All my older cars have room to pull the engine from the top. This F body is more like working on a van the engine is recessed so far under the windshield lip.

I have never tried dropping a drivetrain out the bottom before and have limited equipment (a 7' A-frame hoist and a 2 ton jack are it).

Can anyone give me some pointers on the best way to go? I have the GM repair manuals and they don't make any mention of the best procedure which makes me believe it's not going to be fun.

Thanks all........!

Bone it like you own it FORD RECOVERY EXPERT's Avatar

Black / Stryker Blue
    2K WS.6/ 2K9 G8GT

with the v6 it is possible to remove the front accessories, and go out the top., if you have access to a lift, then out the bottom is easier...

green

Ha,,,no lift unfortunately. Would it make sense to remove the intake components as well as the front accessories and rad etc? Looks like it would have to be pulled at one heck of an angle?!

Black / Stryker Blue
    2K WS.6/ 2K9 G8GT

the more you can get off it the better

Red
    1996 TransAM Supercharged

LS1 removal??

Can the LS1 be removed from the top with the intake and radiator, etc. removed beforehand?

red
    2001 formula