Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: SS Clone

Black
    98 Camaro SS

SS Clone

I just bought a Camaro Z28, its got all the extra ss stuff on it but the vin doesnt check out to be a real ss. I'm kinda new to the whole Camaro scene i just wanted to know if its totally dishonorable to have a cloned ss.

Black/Black
    1999 Z28 M6 Vert

Be proud of your Z!!! not much difference between the ss and z28

Sure? No WU8 RPO code?

Black
    98 Camaro SS

yeah. its kinda a half done clone anyways. it'd be more expensive to take it back then it would be to finish up the cloning so i think i'm gonna finish it

Black
    2014 Camaro 1LS

Quote Originally Posted by 99Ztwenty8 View Post
    Be proud of your Z!!! not much difference between the ss and z28
    must disagree there is a big difference

Silver
    2002 Z28

Quote Originally Posted by rrgray8 View Post
    must disagree there is a big difference
    Must disagree with your disagreeing.

In the realm of modded F-bodies, there's little that makes an SS an SS that is left unchanged. When all is said and done, the only thing seperating 99% of us LS1.com guy's Zs and SS is the Hood, Spoiler, and badges. I don't think that having a Z look like an SS is wrong, but I wouldn't stick the badges on there, either leave the Z-28 badges, or put old school badges on there. Whenever I have the dough, I'll be outfitting the Z with an SS hood and Spoiler, I just have a hard time justifying the >1k it'll cost, when at the end of the day, my car isn't any faster. I figure I'll just go sleeper until the build up is satisfying...as it kind of is now...then boom, appearance mods.
    She's baaaaaccccck...

'02 Z/28 M6 Hardtop

Member A~NICE~CAR~IS~A~NICE~CAR's Avatar

Rally Red/race stripes
    2002 Super Sport

call SLP on the number on the web site, they will tell you,
    www.slponline.com

yeah just don't put ss badges on a clone unless its over 30 years old.