Results 1 to 3 of 3

Running the wiring for A-Pillar gauge pod

This is a discussion on Running the wiring for A-Pillar gauge pod within the Camaro / SS forums, part of the Vehicle Specific category; I'm installing some a-pillar gauges on my 2001 Camaro SS. I'm curious if there's any recommendations for where or how ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10

    Running the wiring for A-Pillar gauge pod

    I'm installing some a-pillar gauges on my 2001 Camaro SS. I'm curious if there's any recommendations for where or how to run the wires through the firewall? The AFR gauge has a nearly 3/4" connector, so I need more than a tiny hole. I did this on my S10 and there was an easy spot to drill a role, but the Camaro is definitely tighter.

    Thanks,
    Scott

  2. #2
    Member sjgreen6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    526

    Navy Blue
    2002 Trans Am WS6 Conv

    Scott,

    Had the same issue and I did not find a good solution either. I thought about cutting the wire and reconnecting it so I could keep the size of the hole small but given the wires are pretty fine I decided to leave the wire alone and ran a pilot hole through the firewall with a 1/4" bit then enlarged it slowly using a stepped bit until it was just large enough to get the wiring through. Then I filled the hole with a rubber plug from the local auto parts store that I split around the wiring to prevent chafing and fill the gap and hit it with black RTV on both sides to ensure it stayed sealed.

    Steve
    ATI Procharger, SFCs, Y-pipe, LM2, BBK Shorty Headers, Corvette N73 Magnesium Wheels, 4th Circle Designs Stripe and Overlay kit

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by sjgreen6 View Post
    Had the same issue and I did not find a good solution either. I thought about cutting the wire and reconnecting it so I could keep the size of the hole small but given the wires are pretty fine I decided to leave the wire alone and ran a pilot hole through the firewall with a 1/4" bit then enlarged it slowly using a stepped bit until it was just large enough to get the wiring through. Then I filled the hole with a rubber plug from the local auto parts store that I split around the wiring to prevent chafing and fill the gap and hit it with black RTV on both sides to ensure it stayed sealed.
    That's what I ended up doing and it worked out well. Finding a spot under the dash where I could reasonably reach with my drill was a task, but I did find a spot. Job complete and gauges functioning. Thanks!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: double gauge pillar with gauges
    By Kaotic_ws6 in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 10:08 AM
  2. BOOST gauge, FUEL PRESSURE gauge, dual pillar pod
    By onefastbird! in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2007, 08:31 PM
  3. Dual pillar gauge pod for HARDTOP
    By onefastbird! in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2006, 02:14 PM
  4. A-pillar Gauge Pics
    By SSNAKEATER23 in forum Appearance Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-13-2006, 08:06 PM
  5. Pillar Gauge Pod?
    By x10-wakerider in forum Appearance Section
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-24-2005, 04:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •