Debating if I should by 1998 Z28 - Any advice?

Hello Community,

I am new to the LS1 community and to sports cars in general. Computers is my sweet spot, you can ask my anything about it and I can help! However, when it comes to cars, I am slowly learning!

I sold my GSX-R a few months ago and have been interested in Trans Am's or Camaro's. I really like the way they look and sound with SLP Loudmouth exhaust. I have been looking for a 1998-1999 Trans Am or Camaro (which ever fits my price range or I can get at a good price) for a few months now. All the ones (in my price range $4,500-$5,500) I have looked at are not in the greatest condition. They either have ripped liners, shattered dashes, or leather is tore to shreds. I know it will not be perfect, but would prefer one where I don't have to dump a lot of money into it.

Right now, I am looking at a 1998 Trans Am ($5,700 or best offer) and I am going to see it tomorrow. However, I was looking on the web tonight and found this 1998 Camaro Z28 for sale. It has 174,416 miles. It is going for $2,995? Is it worth the $3K and getting with 174K miles? Is there any potential/foreseeable problems if the future that I may encounter?

Here is the Carfax: CARFAX Vehicle History Report for this 1998 CHEVROLET CAMARO Z28

Here is the car: 1998 Chevrolet Camaro $2,995 - Coughlin Automotive - London - London, OH 43140 Dealer

Any advice from the LS1 community would be appreciated.

Thanks,

CP
    Last edited by fastls1ta; 12-02-2012 at 06:01 PM.

I personally don't buy cars with miles that high (unless it's a classic and I'm tearing it completely down anyway).