Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Rally Red
    2002 Z28 Camaro

3:73's are in, whine pretty bad! (Not Happy!)

So I just picked up my car yesterday after having a set of Motive 3:73's installed. I drove a few blocks home and thought I noticed some gear whine/howl.

So later in the evening, when I had more time, I took the car out again. There is definitely pronounced whine from the rear end which seems to occur when not under load IE not accelerating. Needless to say I'm pretty pi$$ed.

I'm taking it back to the shop where I had it done later today! I'm not a mechanic by any stretch, but I'm guessing the backlash isn't set correctly. I also know you can ruin the gears by driving them this way, I put a total of 20 miles on them......I should be OK, I hope!

Black
    00 camaro ss M6 #6695

Welcome to reality man.
    My 3.73 are very loud and annoying
    I changed the fluid 3 times also add additive and still there.
    It starts around 35 mph. And stops at 80 mph

It an m6. My m6 had stock 3.42s no noise at all.

I wasn't happy with my either I'm still not happy but there's no way to fix that.
    I had to get used to it
    00 ss blk m6 " STOCK" strano springs, slp bilstein shocks, adj LCA, adj panhard bar, relocation brackets, 2 point SFCs welded,OEM zo6 rims black, magnaflow exhaust, CME exhaust,E/cutout, slp grille, custom front plate mount, HIDs, whistler mod, side moldings delete, slp air lid, ported and polished TB, strut tower brace, 3.73s gears, and some other parts to list!
    next to come,4.10s,ls7 clutch, ms3 or 228r cam, ported 243s, ls6 intake, ls6 oil pump. ls2 timing chain, longtube headers no cats, with a tune..
    02 tahoe Z71 blacked out
    00 jeep grand Cherokee limited on 22s.
    07 Dodge Charger R/T Inferno Red, Sold
    98 z28 red m6 sold
    07 zx6r ninja flat/black sold
    08 zx6r ninja sold

Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified