Black
    2001 SS

100K engine want 500+rwhp $7-8k parts options?

Hey all I read the forums everday but I dont post much. I asked a generalized question once on how to get about 550 on the ground in terms of HP, and had some very helpful responses but generalized answers like "heads cams etc "

My question this time is way more specific for a couple things.

My LS1 6sp has over 100K miles on it, I have know clue of the condition other then it seems to run great, My goal for the car is to have over 500hp on the ground and for it to be streetable.

I am very new to american cars, and sadly I am more of a buyer instead of a mechanic but I am trying to change that so a lot of the time I do not know what things mean or are, or what is what.

Anyways, I budgeting about 7-8k for just parts, is it possible to get a reliable 500+hp rwhp ?

Should i buy a new 383 or 402 stoker ? Should i keep and build upon my LS1 that has over 100K miles ? Do I need a new tranny ? I already know I will be putting a new rear end in .

Any "paint by number" advice and tips would be loved, also vendor help would be nice, thank you in advance
    Last edited by jadenharrow; 08-06-2008 at 03:37 PM.

2002 Z28 A4 NBM
    Sadly now demodded :(

More cubic inches equals easier on the engine high horsepower levels.

For instance, assume 1 hp/cid on any given engine without stress on major components. This is easily attainable. 346cid = 346hp; 402 = 402 hp. Just in size alone you've gained 58 hp (all things being equal). Therefore bigger hp numbers are more easily attained with a larger cid engine. It's also less stress on the engine.

All the same though, horsepower is just a function of torque so you really want an engine with a lot of torque.

QuickSilverMetallic
    2005 GTO M6

Quote Originally Posted by 67CamaroRSSS View Post
    More cubic inches equals easier on the engine high horsepower levels.