Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Hugger Orange/W stripes
    1999 Z28 M6

Younger generations don't say 'thank you' very much

I have noticed for the past couple of years, a growing phenomenon when I interact with younger folks (under 30). No matter if it is directions being asked for, me holding a door, letting a pedestrian walk in front of me at crosswalks, whatever, I RARELY get any type of acknowledgement to thank me for the effort. Then I started paying attention to others with me who were also not being thanked. It was just as common with them. In some instances, what I do for a living was known, sometimes it wasn't, but the results (or lack of) were similar.

I'm a white male, 41 years old, 6'3", 270 pounds. Not the most handsome man on the planet, but I ain't the elephant man either. I try to be polite to everyone. Everyone. I say thank you, or the like, when I am on the receiving end of courtesy.

What I have found in all this, is that the "thankless" bunch are invariably younger than thirty, seem to be either gender, and blacks are more prone to it than any other race.

I want to know why this is. I'm saying it is intentional. It's not like they are distracted, they are just refusing to be courteous. This is not a race/gender/age thing on my part, but I'm beginning to think it may be some sort of social insult on the part of others.

Anyone else seeing this?

Detailing + Design third_shift|studios's Avatar

My life is a
    Ben Stiller movie.

I think i've seen a lack of curtousey in general these days. People not holding the doors for others, not using a turn signal to merge. I blame it on cell phones

Black
    2005 GTO

I totally agree with you there is just a common lack of respect and courtesy from the younger generation. Not only do you not get thank you but most the time they won't do the same for you such has holding a door for you.