Liquid Red
    2008 Pontiac G8 GT

What would you do??

Here's the background. I work for a dealership that I used to sell cars at. I'm now an assistant manager. In November 2010, I leased my best friend's mom a new car. She went into the finance department to finalize the paperwork for the deal and ended up buying a maintenance plan. The plan (as she was told by the finance manager) would cover all of her maintenance on her car for the term of the lease (39 months.) The package was $1190 which equates to about $30/month.

Recently she stopped in to have her oil changed and the service writer to told her that her 15k mile service is due and asked her if she wanted it done. She said as long as it's part of the maintenance package, go ahead. Well, the package doesn't cover that kind of maintenance, just oil changes and tire rotations. I'm sure you all can do the math... It's a rip off if that's all it covers.

This all happened about a month ago and she asked me to look into it. I did and I told my district manager and my service director about the problem. They said they would work something out with her and call her. Well, she hadn't heard anything from either one of them and now she wants a full refund of the maintenance package.

Had either the service director or the district manager worked something out with her it wouldn't be an issue now, but after a month with no results, she's now livid.

She's not mad at me but the fact that the finance manager lied to her. He's no longer with the company either.

The thing that get's me, is the fact that it's my best friends mom and all they did was sweep the problem under the rug and hoped it would go away. Well it isn't going away. I just got off the phone with and she now wants to call the owner of our dealer group and possibly lawyer up.

Is it just me thinking that it's BS? Why wouldn't a company do everything they could to save a customer instead of pushing it off??

Any thoughts? BTW, sorry for the long post.