98 Formula
    06 duramax

Spaz.....or other guitar players

Any of you guys set your own guitars up? I've been watching some how to's on youtube and might tackle my ibanez. It really needs set up bad....I can see the string heights are different (by a long shot) and the pick ups needs raised. I've had it loaned out for the last couple of years and I'm not sure if the person I loaned it to try to adjust something or what but it definitely sounds like ass right now.

It's an ibanez rg 470 with a floyd rose tremelo. My question is the order in which I should do things. Bridge, truss rod, action, pick up height, and intonation?

Guitar used to play pretty bad ass. I put a George Lynch screamin' demon in the bridge position a few years ago. I've been playing my bc rich bich though for a few years now and want to go back to playing the ibanez because I miss the tremelo and higher gain.

Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified

I always take mine to a local guy to setup. There's definately an art to doing it right. You could probably get it close with YouTube though. These's some pretty good experts on there.

98 Formula
    06 duramax

I gotta get some feeler gauges and a ruler to measure 64ths. Can't find my gauges and never had a ruler that would measure down that small. I just started on it to see how close I could get it and if I could even do it. It's really not that bad at all. I just ball parked it without the gauges and it made a pretty significant difference in how it plays and sounds. Can't wait to fine tune it with the gauges. I didn't make any truss rod adjustment because I really need the gauges for that and my intonation was pretty good on all the strings except the A string which isn't off by much. I just set the bridge height (little too low right now), adjusted the trem spring pressure, and adjusted the pick up height. Those things I knew for sure were way off and they made quite a bit of difference.

Black
    99 WS.6 - Modified