BOOSTD

Question for dog owners

This fall, I will be starting my senior year in college and I will be graduating in May. If everything goes right, I will be attending graduate school next fall (fall 2007). I've recently been very interested in buying a dog to go with me to whatever graduate school I attend. Since most of the graduate schools that I am applying to will be far from home, I want the dog mostly for companionship at my new home. The problem, however, is the logistics of taking care of the dog while still in school. I would defiantly buy the dog as soon as I graduated so that I could spend a lot of time with it over the summer to train it and for it to get familiar with me. In August, however, graduate school would start and most of my day would be spent at school or in lab. This is my dilemma: Is it right/fair to the dog to keep it in a kennel for most of the day (say 9 - 5, and taking it a walk during lunch)? Im sure its possible, but I dont want to be cruel to it also. If everything goes as I hope, I will be in grad school / post doc for the next 10 - 12 years, so there really isnt going to be a "good" time to get a dog.

thanks
    BOOSTD

SUPREME member-oderator oneBADDz's Avatar

Custom Slate Blue
    99 B4C

I don't approve. I don't have any viable reasons other than the fact that it a pretty mean idea. Get a breed that isn't super-active that you can let run arund the house/apartment while you are gone without worries of him getting bored and tearing stuff up, which would be your main concern. You need to get a dog that fits your lifestyle, any idea as to what you want? If you will be gone alot an active dog is a bad idea because they need constant activity to help keep them from developing bad habits both while you are away and while you are around.

Detailing + Design third_shift|studios's Avatar

My life is a
    Ben Stiller movie.