Pondering being a cop for a career. Help!

What kind of person would fit best for being a cop? I have friends that have made good careers out of being a cop first then being like an investigator(where the money is) and i just dont know if i would like that street cop lifestyle to begin. What do you guys know about being a street cop for a few years? How long do you typically have to be on the streets before you can move up?I have a degree so would that help?

Also, i hear theres alot of divorces with cops and their wives are always worrying,and i am married. I really like watching that stuff on t.v. and it always interests me but just not sure if it fits my personality. If i could just be hired to do crime scene stuff and investigative stuff that would be great but according to the recruiter thats not how it works.

Let me know what you guys know or if any of you are cops.

Blue

id contact lawdog,he will tell you everything plus some!!

06 PBM GTO(458WHP)SOLD!!
    06 TR GTO~476WHP 425TRQ

I was and still maybe thinking about being a Cop....i think it fits me as well and also wanted to be a detective eventually. But the crime rate(like murders etc) is pretty low where i live. I can tell you that if i lived in Baton Rouge or New Orleans or some big City like that than NO! The bad things around here are drunk driving and such. 2 VERY close people to me where killed by drunk drivers and i would like to crack down on that around here. I can tell you if you like helping people and can deal with people in good manner than its for you. Now the only thing i would or will take personal would be thise domestic/spousel violence calls b/c im BIG against hitting woman and children. I would most likely treat those assholes a little more ruff.

Black
    2002 Camaro SS (crashed)