Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Black
    1999 TA WS.6

Im a mechanic, just spent 600 dollars on SEVEN wrench's

Alright, I suppose this is a rant. But I dont care. I am a mechanic, or a technician they call it because I use lap tops. ooooooo

I work for Caterpillar on the big ass machinery. So I need big ass tools, along with the small tools. I have spent probaly 4 grand in tools plus the money I spent on my tool box. I have been working there for a year and a half. Today I spent 1000$ fucking dollars on SEVEN wrenchs and a set of wobble sockets. The seven wrench were 600 bucks. Seven god damn wrenchs. And thats at a HUGE discount threw CAT. If I bought those off Matco or Snap-on it would be 750 or more. I still have at LEAST 8 grand worth of tools to buy before I can say Im able to work on anything.... efficiently. As of now, I have the tools I need to get by.

I make an even 500 aweek. So I just spent two damn weeks of pay in one day. Shit just aint right I tell you. Anyone else out there that is a mechanic that effing hates buying tools? Im sure I am the only one working on shit where you need wrench's that go beyond 2 inch size and sockets in 1/4, 3/8. 1/2, 3/4, and finally, one inch sizes. Plus the damn impacts to power those. A Igersol Rand 3/4 impact is 600 dollars. Then you can add another 1000 just in 3/4 impact sockets. Shit just never ends. Never. I want some angle wrench's for all the damn hydraulic shit I work on... 700 bucks. for a damn set of angled wrench's. I could go on and on, sorry about the rant. I feel better now that im home away from my tool box with abeer.
    Last edited by Hi-Po; 06-27-2007 at 07:43 PM.

Black
    2000 Trans Am WS6

sprry man that sucks... shouldnt the company you work for pay for your tools?

at least tools last forever though and you can sell them if you need for close to what you paid for them

'93 S10 LS1

my conversation with the snap-on guy last week: