Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Black
    2014 Camaro 1LS

How u know autozone will hire anybody, reguardless of car knowledge

I called autozone the other day checking on a part and the employee asked what type car and I told him 2001 SS Camaro. He said is that a 6 or 8 cylinder ?

2002 Z28 A4 NBM
    Sadly now demodded :(

I asked a guy that works at the local AutoZone about that and he said they have to ask regardless. Even if they know what engine or tranny it's part of the training that they ask a series of (to us) seemingly inane questions.

Although for the most part most of the counter guys (especially if they're new) have no clue some of them are quite sharp.

I am a store manager for Advance Auto Parts and the problem is that the auto parts companies will not give you the money to hire the people who are actually knowledgable. they want us to hire people who have the experience and knowledge, but want to pay them what they are worth.

Retired Outlaw Sum Bitch

The onus is on you to know WTF your after before you go in there. Sign in front of the store dosnt say we know everything. But yes...that is funny...6cyl SS...oh well...you'd be famous

ArtistFormerlyKnownAsMac Silver Streak's Avatar

All Black
    83, 87, 02 All WS6 T/As

Well. in his defense.. (I worked at Advance for almost a year between jobs).. when you ask what kind of car.. the next screen is the engine.. without knowing the difference between an SS, Z28, or SC.. He wouldn't know that the SSs only came with a v-8... and then he might not have been in the computer yet.. maybe finishing up another customer.. and just trying to get all the info first while helping out another person.

Lots of variables involved.. plus habit comes into play. But with knowing these cars.. yeah it is kinda funny.