Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Home AC ?

Silver
    2016 Dodge Challenger

Home AC ?

Had a ac tech out the other day to look at a couple of things. He suggested that I keep the ac setting on the ON position instead of auto. He said it would keep even airflow through out the house keeping the compressor from coming on to much.He said in ther long run it would save energy? The fan is constantly running so hows does that effect our electric bill? He said the fan running only equals a 100 watt light bulb.

Detailing + Design third_shift|studios's Avatar

My life is a
    Ben Stiller movie.

that doesn't make any sense...if you have the fan ON and the a/c ON cooling the house consistantly then your gonna use more energy then the system shutting down all together then running for a short burst...i'm not an electrician by any means, but it just doesn't make sense?

Silver
    2016 Dodge Challenger

Question

Something to the effect that with the fan on circulating it keeps a more even temp, thus keeping the compressor from turning on more.It takes more amps for the compressor to come on than for the fan to continue to run. His explanation not mine. I was just asking so I dont get a $400 electric bill next month.He also said the electric company crap about keeping your thermostat at 78 in summer and 68 in winter is crap. He keeps his at 72 all year round.

Love buying generic GM's Nastyfoot's Avatar

Black, Black
    2011 "Generic" Gasser

Quote Originally Posted by redls1 View Post
    Had a ac tech out the other day to look at a couple of things. He suggested that I keep the ac setting on the ON position instead of auto. He said it would keep even airflow through out the house keeping the compressor from coming on to much.He said in ther long run it would save energy? The fan is constantly running so hows does that effect our electric bill? He said the fan running only equals a 100 watt light bulb.