silver
    1996 Trans AM WS6

heavybag/boxing tips needed

so, i'm not a pro, never have been trained and never expect to. i just enjoy working on my bag at home. that said i want to learn the best that i can. i seem to have an issue keeping my guard up especially after i throw a power shot.

i am and always been ambidextrous and can throw punches from either side with comfort but i do seem to be a little less aware of what i'm doing from the left side... anyway, how can i teach myself to keep my guard up?

in the pic below i'm in a south paw stance, threw a right jab and a solid straight left but you can clearly see my right hand down near my hip as it just followed the momentum of my left swing:

[]D [] []V[] []D
    1999 trans am

trun your shoulders... it will extend your reach... in that picture you'd be easily knocked off balance cause you're leaning to far forward...

[]D [] []V[] []D
    1999 trans am

also... turning your hand sideways can also increase your range slightly...

ex.

you want to break a nose you punch how you are now...
    you want to break an eye socket you turn your hand...

[]D [] []V[] []D
    1999 trans am

you sohuld also rais the bag up higher... i don't use gloves on bags and have punched the metal rings on them and it hurts like hell...

silver
    1996 Trans AM WS6

Quote Originally Posted by Spaz View Post
    trun your shoulders... it will extend your reach... in that picture you'd be easily knocked off balance cause you're leaning to far forward...

i agree with you but actually my first right jab started the bag moving backwards so i'm reaching forward to land my 2nd blow. i think the 100lb bag isn't heavy enough for me as it moves way too much.

Quote Originally Posted by Spaz View Post
    also... turning your hand sideways can also increase your range slightly...

ex.

you want to break a nose you punch how you are now...
    you want to break an eye socket you turn your hand...