Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

HD DVD questions........

I am thinking of upgrading to HD DVDs and I have some questions. Do they make HD DVD players that are necessary to play these on and is this the way to go. I just looked at ebay and they have some on there with built in processors to upgrade the normal dvd to 720 or 1080.........does that really work well? Or does a standard DVD player play the hd dvds automatically at the higher definition? Need info.........thanks for the help.

Black
    2005 GTO

I'm no expert but from what I understand, a regular dvd and hd dvd are two different things. They have full hd dvd players out now there somewere around $600+ and from what I understand they will upconvert your old dvd to near HD but will not be full HD like an actually HD dvd. There are also cheaper upconverting dvd players out there that do basically the same the upconvert a regular dvd to near HD. Personally I'm waiting for the price to drop on the hd dvd players and for more movies to come out on hd dvd. It really kinda sucks cause just as you start to get a good collection of dvd's the go and start hd and now its like starting all over.

2nd last of the lt1s EVAR 94z28l's Avatar

purple pearl metalic
    1994 Z28 Camaro

just wait, there will be a computer program to turn standard dvd's to hd with in the next year. blue ray is similar to hd dvd

White
    1999 Trans Am WS6

Quote Originally Posted by JonB View Post