Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

PBM 366ci TC78 E85
    2004 Pontiac GTO PBM A4

Geothermal... ANYONE!!!

so i just to let all of you know. I am a geothermal expert, (for the most part) so if anyone in the great lakes. ie. indiana, ohio, illinois, kentucky, michigan, is looking for or have any questions about geothermal. please dont hesitate to ask. if i dont know the answer right away it wont take me long to get. i aslo do installs as well. so if you all need anything. just ask

The Herpes of LS1.com Modulistic's Avatar

gray
    07 duramax

do you drill for heat or do heat exchange coils in the topsoil?

Black
    1999 Z/28 M6

would it be feasible for a power company to build a large geothermal plant say in wisconsin...pump water into the ground, heat it with the earth, and then have the steam run turbines at the surface before being pumped back into the ground again? or would it not be realistic given the terrain and topography...i mean...the bedrock of granite retains a lot of heat if i'm not mistaken and the wolf river batholith is very near the surface in north central wisconsin so i would assume that that would be a good heat transfer point.

PBM 366ci TC78 E85
    2004 Pontiac GTO PBM A4

the problem would be heating the water back up. it would take extreme depths to create that situation. most geothermal POWER plants are built with existing fissures. and sorry to dissapoint. that is not my area of expertise. im talking about geothermal Heating and Cooling. Series of underground pipes carrying water to transport heat from one place to another. IE. your house to ground

PBM 366ci TC78 E85
    2004 Pontiac GTO PBM A4

Quote Originally Posted by Modulistic View Post
    do you drill for heat or do heat exchange coils in the topsoil?