Artic White
    2001 Camaro SS

Gear ratio question.

I am buying a Chrysler Aspen with the hemi. I can get the trailer package which has a 3.92 gear ratio. It comes stock with 3.55 ratio.

Is there a big difference here? What will mileage be like with the 3.92 compared to the 3.55? I'm no mechanic and I never was really up on ratios.

Thanks for the help.

white
    90 Mustang 5.0

Quote Originally Posted by WhiteHotSS View Post
    I am buying a Chrysler Aspen with the hemi. I can get the trailer package which has a 3.92 gear ratio. It comes stock with 3.55 ratio.

Is there a big difference here? What will mileage be like with the 3.92 compared to the 3.55? I'm no mechanic and I never was really up on ratios.

Thanks for the help.
    I don't think you'll notice too much of a gas mileage drop, those hemis dont get good fuel mileage to begin with.

The real question is, do you actually tow anything? If you don't I'd jus get the 3.55 if the mileage is that much of a concern. That hemi is pretty torquey.

Black
    1998 Trans Am

Yeah, prepare for the gas mileage to rape you. I used to be a chrysler/dodge tech, and I never saw the hemi durangos get better than 16 or 17 on the highway.

white
    90 Mustang 5.0

Quote Originally Posted by C&Cbird View Post
    Yeah, prepare for the gas mileage to rape you. I used to be a chrysler/dodge tech, and I never saw the hemi durangos get better than 16 or 17 on the highway.
    Got sick of getting ass raped by that new warranty eh? lol I hate warranty time, makes me wanna kill the engineers.

Artic White
    2001 Camaro SS

Well I will only be towing a jet ski or possibly my friends 22 ft boat.( I don't know how much it weighs,but the truck can tow 8,700 lbs)

As per the mileage, it has that feature that shuts off 4 of the 8 at highway speeds.

Plus it has the lifetime powertrain and 3/36000 mi warranty.

white
    90 Mustang 5.0

Quote Originally Posted by WhiteHotSS View Post