Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First time home buyers MUST READ THIS...

Ok as a realtor I can't tell you how HUGE this is for first time home buyers. IF you didn't already know last year there was a $7,500 tax credit if you bought your home but it was a low interest loan that had to be paid back over 15 years.

The NEW plan allows a claim of $8,000 or 10% of the home's value, whichever is less on 2008 or 2009 taxes.

Now this is limited to singles with an income of $75,000 or couples under $150,000.

You must be either a first time home buyer or not have owned a home in the past 3 years. So unfortunately it doesn't help those already in trouble.

Basic understanding is if you paid your taxes and owe $0 to uncle sam you get $8,000 back if you purchase a house this year. If you owe Uncle Sam $2,000 you'd get back $6,000 or if Uncle sam owed you $3,500 you'd get that plus the $8,000 so $11,500.

If this doesn't at least help get some potential buyers off the fence not much else will.

If anyone has any questions feel free to PM me.

Gene

NBM
    2002 z28 camaro

with your exp. what is the lowest credit score needed to get a home?
    Also what is the amount you need for down/closing money?
    Just started doing my own research to find my first home and haven't talked to anyone yet

this credit is what made me start thinking about getting a home plus I cry when i write my rent check every month. my rent aint' cheap
    Last edited by 02Sweet; 02-18-2009 at 10:34 AM.

91RS 99Z28 11GT 86Bronco

right now i'm under the impression that banks are looking for people with reasonable credit scores in the area of 650 or better. again, the lower your score the higher your rates is going to be because of the assumed risk.