Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Career Advice

Navy Blue
    2002 Z28 A/4

Career Advice

Im going to college on march & really not sure what career to pursue. I am considering business management but really don't have a clue All advice or help welcomed.

Impounded
    gmcheviac

Mechanical engineering is very hard, but it covers a broad variety of jobs and they get good jobs

Everything fiberglass
    2005 Amberlamps

What are your goals in life?

Red
    02 35th LE Camaro SS

Quote Originally Posted by wheeliE-maxx View Post
    Mechanical engineering is very hard, but it covers a broad variety of jobs and they get good jobs
    I can attest to this being a mechanical engineer myself. Schooling is tough, but you can "almost" be certain to find a job, and be paid pretty well being an engineer. You won't become a millionaire, but you won't be living from paycheck to paycheck either.

Business is a more diverse field (just got my MBA). There is a lot of competition for business degrees and unless you have something more to offer over someone else, you might be more pressed to find a job, especially when the economy is at a low. If you have good communication skills, are good at effectively managing people and meeting deadlines, go for business. Management often pays more, but with that upgraded pay scale comes more responsibility, more accountability, and more stress.

The two best fields are health and engineering in my opinion.

It all boils down to what your interests are and what you think you will be happy doing.

Impounded
    gmcheviac

Health futures are looking shady to me. They might be able to pass full on govt. health care one of these days...

Everything fiberglass
    2005 Amberlamps

Quote Originally Posted by wheeliE-maxx View Post
    Health futures are looking shady to me. They might be able to pass full on govt. health care one of these days...
    The jobs will be there regardless. People will always get sick.

Navy Blue
    2002 Z28 A/4