Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

black
    2000 pontiac trans am

abandoned race tracks

So, I've always been kinda interested in abandoned things. and I say that new durango commercial, and it got me thinking, I'm new to southern Maryland, I wonder if there is an abandoned track near me? And, to my surprise I found two.

Marlboro Motor Raceway, witch was running from 1952-69. It looks like it must have been an amazing place, there is a circle track and a road course.
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=...&om=1 look up (Wssc Treatment Plant Road, Greater Upper Marlboro, MD) its closer to rt 301
    you can see the oval really well, and kinda see the faint outline of the road course, wouldn't mind going there to see it some day soon.
    Marlboro Motor Raceway

The other one is a drag strip Aquasco Speedway.
    Aquasco Speedway
    neck rd aquasco md - Google Maps
    Its right next to Neck road. It opened in 1957 and closed in 78 for "environmental reasons"

Think it be interesting to remember these places and see how many of them are actually out there!
    Last edited by Rob00Taws6; 08-18-2011 at 03:40 PM.

Navy Blue Metallic
    98 T/A w/ mods, 00 FBVert

I would love to own a track.

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban