Black
    97 firebird WS6

Propane nitrous?

Hey guys! I am in the market to purchase a nitrous kit for my car. Someone told me to add a propane combo. Never heard of this. Does anyone have any info on this combo?

Silver & Black
    99 Camaro SS

Unless somebody has pulled something special...it ain't for power! Propane has a lower BTU I think 77-82 effective octane if I recall. When I was an Engineer at Ingersoll Rand we had standby generators that ran on diesel, propane, and natural gas.

Due to the reduced energy all the non-diesels had turbos. And the heat is greater! I once played in the driveway with gas and propane mixed....less power no matter what.

I wouldn't run it in mine and if I did it would be because the propane prices really dropped and then I'd run a passive 5 to 8% water/alcohol blend to reduce heat. If someone is playing with it now they are likely trying to save gas. (I've played all in this area and I wouldn't do it...it would take along time to get money back even if you got this right. I am playing with Brown's Gas, much more upside with water electrolysis!)

1966 Corvette Coupe

The only think i can think of is possibly using propane as the wet part of a wet kit... I could see where it might be better than gas in a few aspects and if you ran LP it would significantly cool your charge, but unless its a boosted motor you prolly wont see much of a difference because of cooling...

I've heard the expansion of LP adda a few psi of manifold pressure also...

-me

p.s. propane basically is the nitrous of deisel engines so they may have gotten soem info mixed up somewhere...

98 Formula
    06 duramax

Moving to the N2O section

Trans Am owner
    former

Quote Originally Posted by predator View Post