Black
    1999 Pontiac Firehawk

1999 Firehawk transmission question

Hello, I'm new to the LS1 site and happy to be here!
    I have a 1999 Firehawk my Dad left me when he passed 3 years ago. It's very well maintained but lately when I'm driving on the highway at a constant speed the RPMs increase, the motor starts to rev and I seem to lose power and start slowing down. I can step on the gas and it eventually corrects but I think the transmission is slipping. Any thoughts? Thanks Gary.

Silver & Blue
    02 Camaro SS, 04 GTO

M6 or A4. Either way your clutch or clutch packs may be the cause. I need more info but lets start with the first question. Do you have three pedals or just two.
    My ride is a 2002 Camaro SS SLP #3296 with 30k, LTH, 3" Y, CME, Frost tune, K&N, ported TB, Blackwing lid, Bellows, MSD, Denso Iridium, and 85mm MAF, Bilsteins, Eibach springs, SLP strut brace, Adj. Panhard, TA Girdle, UMI, Pro 5.0, Nitto NT555
    My wife has a 2004 GTO with the rare SAP, 18" wheels, K&N Cold Air System, MSD, Ported TB, Frost tune, Denso Iridium, Flowmaster cat-back, 3200 Yank, 75k

Gunmetal grey
    66 chevelle

Check the fluid level first , if it's full then sounds like you have burnt 3/4 frictions ! Hate to say it but you are going to need an overhaul ! Common failure if it is a 4L60E !

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Welcome to the site!

Pull your transmission dipstick (assuming A4) and smell the fluid to see if it is "burned". Could be a couple of things, but toasted frictions are a distinct possibility. If you cooked the trans, rather than attempting a rebuild there are several companies that offer built 4L60E's. We run a Performabuilt with a 3,200 stall in our car and love it. If you do rebuild the trans, at least invest in a Beast sunshell and a better front pump.

Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

Welcome to the site!