Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Mean Black
    1998 Trans Am

Desktop didn't want to POST or boot up

Hey guys. I have been putting together my own PC's since windows 98 so I know how to get around. I'm not an expert so that's why I'm asking for input. Here is the issue. The PC is about 5 yrs old. The mobo, CPU, PS and RAM is the same one since I built it. A few days ago I upgraded to an SSD drive. The drive worked awesome and no issues were found. The next day I was watching a video and the screen froze up and the speakers made and awful noise. I hit the restart button and the screen turn off and the PC will not POST or boot up. I can hear the fans running.

I opened the case thinking it was related to my SSD. I also have two more HDs. I turned the power off and disconnected the SSD. I have the same results, nothing. At this point I know is not the SSD and I started the process of elimination. I pull every componenet one by one and same results. I only had left my mobo, CPU, RAM and PS. I have 2 sticks of RAM so I pulled one out. I did heard the PC POST, so I said to myself is must the RAM. I put the RAM stick back and it POST again. weird I said. I put every component back and the PC POST and boot back to normal.

The PC ran fine for at least 5-6 hrs then I got a BSOD. The PC restarted by itself and it ran fine so far.

Here is the setup I have:

MSI 785GTM-E45 mobo
    AMD Phenom 9850 2.5Ghz
    Corsair XM2 PC6400 DDR2 4Gb total (2x2gb)
    Thermaltake blue orb cpu fan
    Antec true 430w PS
    Three case fans
    BFG Geforce 9800GT 1Gb video card PCI-E
    1 SSD drive 120Gb
    1 SATA HD 150Gb
    1 IDE HD 150Gb
    DVD R/W drive
    7-8 USB devices ( I play flight simulators)