Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Black
    2001 Camaro SS

Question How do i know if I need a new clutch?

Im relatively new to manual transmissons and ls1 and i was just wondering how you guys know when u need a new clutch? Im thinking i do because my clutch catches almost at the very top of my release... where should it catch?

please give your advice thank you
    2001 Camaro SS M6 SLP LMII, Lid
    1987 iroc-z RIP 5.7 TPI Full exhaust, lingenfelter intake runners (gone but not forgotten)
    1991 bmw 325i DD

pewter
    2000 camaro ss

Put it in a high gear like 4 or 5 and rev to a 1000 rpm and let the clutch out and if dies clutch is ok for now if stays running it's slipping and is crap. Probly have worn out slave and all that crap with the beautful hydralic sytems on f-bodys

Black
    2001 Camaro SS

Quote Originally Posted by zmg00camaross View Post
    Put it in a high gear like 4 or 5 and rev to a 1000 rpm and let the clutch out and if dies clutch is ok for now if stays running it's slipping and is crap. Probly have worn out slave and all that crap with the beautful hydralic sytems on f-bodys
    when u say "just let it out" im assuming you mean let it out fast and let it stall.. or it should stall and if it doesnt then i need one..

pewter
    2000 camaro ss

Just let it out normally No need to dump it. But it should stall out but I seen you let it out and won't stall which is in need of replaceing the clutch

Black
    2001 Camaro SS

Just let it out normally No need to dump it. But it should stall out but I seen you let it out and won't stall which is in need of replaceing the clutch
    ohh no i was just clarifying.. i havent tried it yet but i will so just let the clutch up normally with no gas and if the clutch is good she should stall... right?

Red
    1999 Camaro SS

I've heard running in it 5th or 6th at about 1000rpm and then flooring it will give you an idea if you need a clutch

pewter
    2000 camaro ss

Quote Originally Posted by Maro SS View Post