Results 1 to 6 of 6

wideband o2sensor

This is a discussion on wideband o2sensor within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hello all, when using hp tuners why do they want you to add a wideband o2sensor? The engine is already ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    5

    Black
    1984 Corvette sb406

    Question wideband o2sensor

    Hello all, when using hp tuners why do they want you to add a wideband o2sensor? The engine is already running a wideband. Is the readings being picked up differently? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    You have to program in a PID in order to see the wideband's output in the program. Very easy to do and once you create the PID, you can add it to your gauge display screen for data logging.

  3. #3
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    the stock sensors are narrowband not wideband. Narrowband sensors are really good at reading stoich but not very good once you get away from stoich.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mean Green Z28 View Post
    Don't worry about understanding women. Women understand women, and they hate each other

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    5

    Black
    1984 Corvette sb406

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    the stock sensors are narrowband not wideband. Narrowband sensors are really good at reading stoich but not very good once you get away from stoich.
    Thank you.

  5. #5
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I just saw your car listed....is that the car in question? I assumed you were talking about a 4th gen. If you're running the 84 with an aftermarket fuel management system I'm not sure what sensors were used...could be either but most likely wideband.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    pajeff02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mansfield, PA
    Posts
    21,576

    Black & Blue
    '02 WS.6 / '07 Suburban

    Good spot.

    Can't tell you how many times I have posted a reply without paying attention to the vehicle details.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: What wideband
    By 99yellowz28 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-22-2014, 06:06 AM
  2. Wideband?
    By ESBdieselcam in forum General Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-15-2009, 04:16 PM
  3. wtb: lc1 wideband...
    By 0rion in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2009, 11:46 PM
  4. wideband?
    By 99w69kitt in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2008, 02:15 PM
  5. Wideband is Here!
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Western Members
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 01:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •