Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

wideband o2 sensors?

This is a discussion on wideband o2 sensors? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I'm having my friend help me install some LT headers on sunday, and he was telling me that I should ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member M-Ten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Pete, Florida
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,210

    Silver+Black/Black+Silver
    1999 TA M6/03 GSXR 600

    wideband o2 sensors?

    I'm having my friend help me install some LT headers on sunday, and he was telling me that I should get some wideband o2 sensors to replace the original ones.. He said he would be able to do a lot more when tuning the car on his laptop..

    I've never heard of them before so my question is :

    Do I really need them, will they help that much? If so, where can I get them?

  2. #2
    Member firemedic0135's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    East Texas
    Age
    42
    Posts
    195

    Arctic White
    2000/Trans Am

    you will have to have your o2 sensors in place for your pcm to adjust the AFR correctly.You cannot tune wideband without them.
    I use the ones from a 02 vette.
    got them at ABC 120 bucks for both.
    they are the rear sensors from a 02 vette and you use them for front sensors.
    you could try to splice your wires you have now but I hear it creates OHM's that can affect you AFR?wideband readings.

  3. #3
    Senior Member M-Ten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Pete, Florida
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,210

    Silver+Black/Black+Silver
    1999 TA M6/03 GSXR 600

    Well yes I have the regular o2 sensors, I got the extensions, a 24" and a 12", but he was saying to get whole new sensors period.

    Can you tune the stock sensors the same as you can the vette sensors? Or can you do more with the vette sensors?

  4. #4
    Member Fran D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington Crossing, PA
    Posts
    131
    You only really need one wideband and there is a vendor that sells a standalone controller so that you can mimic the output of a NB sensor so that it will work correctly with the PCM. Hopefully I'm not running afoul of any forum rules here, but Innovate Motorsports LC-1 would do the trick. I'm sure one of the online retail sponsors of this board carries it...at least, I hope they do.

  5. #5
    Senior Member M-Ten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Pete, Florida
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,210

    Silver+Black/Black+Silver
    1999 TA M6/03 GSXR 600

    Hmm.. it's confusing to me I think i'll stick with the regular sensors lol

  6. #6
    Member Fran D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington Crossing, PA
    Posts
    131
    It's actually a lot easier than you think, but, it's your choice.

  7. #7
    Senior Member M-Ten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Pete, Florida
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,210

    Silver+Black/Black+Silver
    1999 TA M6/03 GSXR 600

    So would it be worth it to get this sensor before I install the headers or just leave it how it is?

  8. #8
    Member Fran D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington Crossing, PA
    Posts
    131
    It doesn't really matter. It's just as easy to add later on.

  9. #9
    Senior Member M-Ten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Pete, Florida
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,210

    Silver+Black/Black+Silver
    1999 TA M6/03 GSXR 600

    Oh ok good, because I really didn't feel like doing it now lol.. thanks for the help

  10. #10
    Member Fran D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington Crossing, PA
    Posts
    131
    No problem. Enjoy your headers.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    24
    You can add a wideband later, but it's easiest if you weld in an extra bung (with plug) for the wideband before you put the parts on the car. I placed mine in the y-pipe so that it is measuring a combination of both banks: http://rdmelton.autoeducation.com/ca.../wideband.html

  12. #12
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    yeah, I would go buy a bung and plug (~$10 or so) and have it welded in before you put everything back in the car. Makes it much easier later on to add the wideband. I run an Innovate LM-1 because it's portable and I can move it from car to car but the LC-1 is a decent wideband also. Either way, you'll want that wideband when it comes time to tune. Makes tuning much easier and much more accurate.

  13. #13
    Senior Member M-Ten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Pete, Florida
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,210

    Silver+Black/Black+Silver
    1999 TA M6/03 GSXR 600

    well I have the regular bung for the o2's in the headers now... wouldn't it fit in that same spot?

  14. #14
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I've read where people use the wideband sensor to also feed the pcm but I've also read where people had trouble doing that. The safe bet is to run the wideband seperate of the narrowbands.

  15. #15
    Member Fran D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Washington Crossing, PA
    Posts
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by M-Ten View Post
    well I have the regular bung for the o2's in the headers now... wouldn't it fit in that same spot?
    Yep.

  16. #16
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    I've read where people use the wideband sensor to also feed the pcm but I've also read where people had trouble doing that. The safe bet is to run the wideband seperate of the narrowbands.
    Yep

  17. #17
    Senior Member M-Ten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Pete, Florida
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,210

    Silver+Black/Black+Silver
    1999 TA M6/03 GSXR 600

    How much better will it be for me to get the widebands? also he mentioned needing a map sensor in place of the maf sensor?

    And will I need a guage with the wideband or just the sensor?

  18. #18
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I was with you until you said that. Who's tuning the car? Does he have experience with LS1's? Our cars already have a map sensor.....it's in the back of the intake. Unless he's talking about a 2 bar map, and unless you're boosted you don't need that.

  19. #19
    12.36@109 Red on Red WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Tulsa OK
    Age
    38
    Posts
    454

    Red
    1996 Trans Am

    It sounds like your friend is going to switch you to Speed Density mode on your PCM. Speed density mode will no longer use the MAF sensor or the O2 sensors. I am saying Keep your front O2's and weld in an extra O2 bung for a wide band for a later date, and there is no reason for you to use SD mode because as far as I know you are not cammed nor are you using Nitrous or a charger. So just have your friend delete emission codes and do some data logging. Then post up the datalog on here as CSV. format so we can take a look.
    Good luck.

  20. #20
    Senior Member M-Ten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Pete, Florida
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,210

    Silver+Black/Black+Silver
    1999 TA M6/03 GSXR 600

    right i'm not cammed or anything yet... probably won't run nitrous or charger but I will be camming sometime early this year... sorry for all the questions but I don't know really know anything about tuning (obviously).. but I'll call the place up that's doing the header install tomorrow and ask them if they can weld in a bung for the wideband.

    should i just go ahead and get a new MAF since that is giving me problems?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wideband o2 sensors
    By silverWS6 in forum General Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-31-2010, 10:08 PM
  2. Wideband O2 Sensors?
    By David Ray in forum General Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-18-2009, 04:18 PM
  3. wideband?
    By 99w69kitt in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2008, 02:15 PM
  4. LC1 wideband and 2 sensors
    By ninobrn99 in forum Parts For Sale / Trade
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-03-2007, 12:40 AM
  5. Wideband is Here!
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Western Members
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 01:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •