Results 1 to 19 of 19

whats the difference between HPTUNERS STD. and PRO

This is a discussion on whats the difference between HPTUNERS STD. and PRO within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; i was looking to buy an hp tuners set up and i was wondering what the difference between MPVI STD ...

  1. #1
    spooled LS1 monte ss spooled88monte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    williamstown new jersey
    Posts
    18

    black
    88 chevy monte carlo ss

    whats the difference between HPTUNERS STD. and PRO

    i was looking to buy an hp tuners set up and i was wondering what the difference between MPVI STD and MPVI PRO is? the cost is STD. $499 and PRO $649. but it didnt go into detail. does anybody know. thanks JOE

  2. #2
    Token V6 Guy
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Trenton/NJ/US
    Age
    41
    Posts
    336

    Silver
    2000 Grand Prix GTP

    Sure, With our Pro interface, you can integrate 0-5v signals from various sensors such as EGT, Wide Band, fuel pressure and others right into our scanner. You will have real time data from those sensors right next to your standard scan tool data such as TPS, RPM, MPH, etc.

    Our MPVI Pro interface also has black box data datalogging of up to 1hr 30mins built in. What this means is you are able to scan your vehicle without the use of a laptop using the interfaces record button. You can then take the interface into your home to transfer the log contents from the interface to the computer. If you have an MPVI Pro it will require no hardware modification. Also note that VCM Scanner comes with both interfaces regardless as it is part of our VCM Suite package.
    Support for HPTuners

  3. #3
    We'll be back... GatorSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    THE SWAMP
    Posts
    1,446

    Light Pewter Metallic
    2000 Camaro SS M6

    Go ahead and get the PRO, because you're going to need it for precision tuning (which requires at least wideband O2) anyway. It will cost more to buy the PRO interface later. And the stand alone data-logging ability is an awesome convenience.

  4. #4
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    +1 for the PRO setup, if you plan on really tuning your car you need the MPVI interface for wideband inputs. I bought one myself and wouldn't think twice to do it again.

    -Eagle

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Dawson, IL
    Age
    58
    Posts
    83

    NBM
    2000 Trans Am

    Another +1 for the Pro version - if you dont you will wish you had and then itll cost even more

  6. #6
    Junior Member copoz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    27

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28 - M6

    I have a 99 z28 with the following add on pkg (Stage 3 .600 lift 2.05 Intake & 1.575 Exhaust Valves) which I am in need of a tuning pkg. Will the HP Pro provide what I need to tune my car. Thx Jim

  7. #7
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    Yes, and then some.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    2
    as an alternative, i ran my wideband into my pcm using the unused egr wire and ran my rail fuel pressure sender thru the old fuel sender wire so didn't need the pro. i had deleted all my evap system stuff already so was fairy straight forward. HOWEVER, i bought the pro anyhow - wanted the blackbox side of things as well as the "potential" to hook up additional 0-5 volt inputs.

  9. #9
    Junior Member copoz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    27

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28 - M6

    If I goto a aftermarket MAF will the HpTuner work with it for tuning, tkx

  10. #10
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    Even with an aftermarket MAF, yes. Question is, WHY would u go to an aftermarket MAF? You must be making quite a bit of power.

    -Eagle

  11. #11
    Junior Member copoz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    27

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28 - M6

    The head / cam pkg came from a company in Fl called Breathless performance, the stage 3 pkg is rated at 500hp on a LS1. Of course this would require re tuning to fully gain this HP which I have not pursued until now. Only thinking a new MAF may or may not be needed to ensure the HP options cover it.

  12. #12
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    You might try tuning using the factory MAF unless you're going up to 90mm intake and TB... Just my $.02.

  13. #13
    Junior Member copoz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    27

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28 - M6

    Will take your advice, outside of the heads and cam, running ls6 intake, volant intake,dg motorsports bigblock ram air hood, after market cats and crossover pipe, SLP loudmouth, 373 gears, eaton posi, 6sp trany. Based on your input and that from HP will be ordering the pro pkg in the nxt 2wks.

  14. #14
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    Cool, enjoy! Start reading now! Their forums are full of great info. Look me up if you get stuck anywhere.

    -Eagle

  15. #15
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by Eagle View Post
    Even with an aftermarket MAF, yes. Question is, WHY would u go to an aftermarket MAF? You must be making quite a bit of power.

    -Eagle

    The limit isn't the MAF though, it's the PCM's internal limit of 512g/sec airflow. You can't get around that on the outside. As a matter of fact, many large MAFs like the 85mm truck MAFs actually report much higher frequency per unit of air causing them to max out EARLIER than the smaller (diameter) factory MAF. 2-3 weeks ago I tuned a car that made 440rwhp (M6, dynojet224) with an 85mm truck MAF and it was on it's NEXT TO LAST CELL!! Crazy, anymore air at all and it would have been maxed out.

  16. #16
    Just another Joe Eagle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NW Chitown
    Posts
    757

    Pewter
    2002 WS6

    How to get around that limitation then? Good info though!

  17. #17
    Junior Member copoz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    27

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28 - M6

    1 more question, i currently have the Superchips Max Micro tune in my z. i assume i need to return the pcm to stock prior to using the HP correct. and if you know can i sell the Superchip device to another 99 owner for them to use or is it locked to my cars vin, tkx

  18. #18
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I would return it to stock although you don't HAVE to. It's a good idea though. I'm not sure how the superchips tuners work but every other tuner I've seen is able to be sold once you return the entire tune ( tranny and engine tunes) back to stock. I would just drop superchips a quick email.

  19. #19
    Junior Member copoz28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    27

    Hugger Orange
    1999 Camaro Z28 - M6

    Great, tkx

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. whats the difference...
    By tpibird923 in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-14-2009, 05:26 PM
  2. Whats the difference?
    By AB'sLs1 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 10:58 AM
  3. Question: whats the difference?
    By Arctikz in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 05:40 AM
  4. whats the difference
    By vytamenc in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-2008, 10:53 AM
  5. Whats the difference?
    By T/A36 in forum External Engine
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-26-2007, 06:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •