Results 1 to 8 of 8

VE Tuning -- unplugging the MAF?

This is a discussion on VE Tuning -- unplugging the MAF? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; OK, I am going to go against my beliefs here, I want to do a VE tune (followed by a ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Newport, Mi.
    Posts
    116

    red
    1999 Camaro SS

    VE Tuning -- unplugging the MAF?

    OK, I am going to go against my beliefs here, I want to do a VE tune (followed by a MAF tune).

    I have read several threads on this matter, but still got a few easy questions:

    1) Do I simply unplug the MAF before I turn the key.

    2) If yes to #1, then I assume that I go directly into speed density, right?

    3) Does the PCM use the Primary VE table or the secondary VE table?

    I asking these questions because I read that if a MAF failure is detected, the PCM goes into SD, and uses the secondary VE table ????? So I'm a bit confused. If I simply unplug the MAF sensor before start-up, which VE table is used?
    '99 Camaro SS; 6-spd, LS2 402 stroker short block, PP stage 3 heads, GMS MAF, 244/248 cam, FLP headers, Borla catback, 4.10 gears, LS6 intake, 39#/hr injectors, Pro 5.0 shifter, subframe connectors, Comp Cams 1.85 rr,
    Best ET: 12.23sec (2.000sec 60'), trap spd:117.5mph, with the LS1 engine.

  2. #2
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    1) yes. some of us will go in and change the MAF fail frequency to 1000 hz to make sure it enters into SD mode

    2) again, yes.

    3) uses the secondary VE table.

    at startup, the PCM will use the primary VE table, until it goes through the diagnostics routine and detects the MAF not working. when it doesn, it will go into the secondary VE table and stay there until the code P0101 is erased and the MAF is working again.

    the PCM has to see the P0101 code to enter SD mode. some people will go and uncheck the SES enable column just so the light doesn't come on.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Newport, Mi.
    Posts
    116

    red
    1999 Camaro SS

    Thank you the your reply.

    I am using LS1Edit. When I view the secondary VE table, I see MAP rows 20, 40, 60, etc,,, not the full table as the main VE table. Is the secondary table actually limited like this, or is it a function of how LS1Edit works?

    Another issue, since I only "see" a partial secondary VE table, it seems difficult to conduct the VE tuning via the secondary VE table, then change the main VE table to match the secondary.

  4. #4
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    yes, the secondary table is in half resolution of the main ve. What are you using to log with? You have to log it, make those changes to your main ve and then copy paste every other row over to the secondary. Make sense?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Newport, Mi.
    Posts
    116

    red
    1999 Camaro SS

    Makes sense, that appears to be my only option.

    Since I started tuning my OBDII LS1 car in 2001, I tune with LS1Edit and log with AutoTap.

  6. #6
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by Doc99SS View Post
    Thank you the your reply.

    I am using LS1Edit. When I view the secondary VE table, I see MAP rows 20, 40, 60, etc,,, not the full table as the main VE table. Is the secondary table actually limited like this, or is it a function of how LS1Edit works?

    Another issue, since I only "see" a partial secondary VE table, it seems difficult to conduct the VE tuning via the secondary VE table, then change the main VE table to match the secondary.
    here's what i do. the scanner will log just like the primary VE table. what i do is do the copy/paste thing to the main VE table, then copy and paste the appropriate rows into the secondary VE table. this way, you are doing both at the same time. and don't have to manually fill in the primary VE table.

  7. #7
    Member squee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Baton Rouge
    Age
    27
    Posts
    952

    Navy Blue Metallic
    2000 SS M6

    Whats the advantages to doing this?

  8. #8
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by squee View Post
    Whats the advantages to doing this?
    the MAF is there to make minor corrections while operating. the VE table is the base fueling table. the closer it is to being correct, the less the MAF has to do to make corrections to fueling.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •