Results 1 to 7 of 7

Upgrading 98 to 99-02?

This is a discussion on Upgrading 98 to 99-02? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Can you upgrade a 98 ecu to the newer style? Whats the difference? Is it a simple PCM swap or ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Vienna WV
    Age
    42
    Posts
    194

    Silver
    98 Trans Am

    Upgrading 98 to 99-02?

    Can you upgrade a 98 ecu to the newer style? Whats the difference? Is it a simple PCM swap or is it much more in depth??

  2. #2
    Senior Member ss~zoso~ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    )
    Posts
    9,128

    SS: NBM, tan top
    1998-SS, 2010 Jetta TDI

    more in-depth, the 98 has a different pin configuration (this is why some hand helds dont work for 98's or have different versions)

    to boot, nothing would be gained by upgrading.

  3. #3
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    Why would you waste your time?? There is no performance or functionality to be gained by switching PCM's between years.

    If you want to modify your PCM, get a tune. That will give you more performance, as well as better efficiency. Of course, its not going to help much on a stock motor, get some bolt ons and then have it tuned

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Vienna WV
    Age
    42
    Posts
    194

    Silver
    98 Trans Am

    Thanks I was wondering the difference between the two thats all. Thanks.

  5. #5
    The Bandit Wesman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,033

    SGM
    1998 Trans Am WS6

    Quote Originally Posted by daveb91 View Post
    Thanks I was wondering the difference between the two thats all. Thanks.
    Okay, no prob

  6. #6
    Member cailey37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    832

    Silver
    1998 Pontiac Trans Am

    Actually the 98 ECM's have a slower processor in them.....they upgraded them in 99.....you can change it out but like someone said earlier....the pin outs are different.........but yes.....the 98 ECM's are a bit#$ to tune if you've done a lot of work to the car.....that's why I got rid of mine all together....

  7. #7
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,519

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    I just read a write up on doing this switch today. It's definitely do-able. Just have to repin the harness. I read the write up at the "other" site.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrading HPtuner to Pro???
    By Firebirdjones in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 11:44 AM
  2. Upgrading from 16 inchers!
    By TransamNick in forum Wheels and Tires
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 06:57 AM
  3. upgrading stereo
    By beer in forum Stereo and Electronics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-27-2009, 01:33 PM
  4. HID & LED upgrading
    By myk02k in forum Camaro / SS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2006, 08:04 PM
  5. upgrading the 6 speed
    By transam98 in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-04-2005, 11:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •