Results 1 to 12 of 12

Tuning for Tq Convertor

This is a discussion on Tuning for Tq Convertor within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; I have HPT and am installing a 4000 rpm Yank PT convertor with a 2.2str. I was wondering what i ...

  1. #1
    Member TA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    863

    Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Tuning for Tq Convertor

    I have HPT and am installing a 4000 rpm Yank PT convertor with a 2.2str. I was wondering what i need to change in the tuning and maybe some recommended starting points for this also.

  2. #2
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    The only thing I had to change in the tune with mine is the engine misfire sensitivity. I dummied it down slowly and wound up with 50% I think to stop the computer from setting the check engine light. I never had to touch anything else.

    I've heard others having to change shift points and pressures etc...

  3. #3
    Member TA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    863

    Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Yea ive heard the pump does stuff at certain rpms and if its not changed to match the new convertor it will ruin a trans quickly. But im not sure what it is... thats why im here

  4. #4
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    I've never heard that one before. I never changed any pump or pressure settings. Drove mine for 3-4 years without problems. Maybe someone else will chime in that can elaborate on that..

  5. #5
    Member TA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    863

    Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    I've never heard that one before. I never changed any pump or pressure settings. Drove mine for 3-4 years without problems. Maybe someone else will chime in that can elaborate on that..
    Maybe the guy that told me that didnt know what he was talking about.

  6. #6
    FASTER THNA SPEEDINtICKEt BANDITO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    A, A
    Age
    28
    Posts
    281

    White
    2002 trans-am

    I'd like to know also. I got a 3800stall with 2.5 str. and my last tranny just neutralized it's self and I had to order a new one.

  7. #7
    Member TA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    863

    Black
    1998 Trans Am

    ^^^ thats what i dont want to have happen

  8. #8
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    What do you mean by neutralized?

  9. #9
    FASTER THNA SPEEDINtICKEt BANDITO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    A, A
    Age
    28
    Posts
    281

    White
    2002 trans-am

    Front pump failed I guess. I put it in gear and the scanner read that it was still in park. I was driving home and all of a sudden the rpms went up like it was in neutral.

  10. #10
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Ouch, that sounds like the converter wasn't locked completely into the trans. These 4L60's are funny about that. Seems like they go in, and the trans will actually bolt up with room for the converter behind the flexplate, but in reality there is still another clunk for the converter to engage. I've seen that happen to people several times, it destroys the pump and does other very bad internal damage to the trans.

  11. #11
    Member TA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    863

    Black
    1998 Trans Am

    so its installed and ive messed with the lockup speeds some in 3rd and 4th for cruising around. where do you guys seem to have yours set.

  12. #12
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    It's car specific. On my 4th gen I still ran the stock camshaft so I left the converter lockup stock which was roughly ~37 mph in 4th and worked fine with the stock 3.23 gears.
    A car with a camshaft however may like that to be a little higher to avoid bucking and kicking issues.

    My blazer which has 33's and 3.07 gears didn't like the stock lockup speeds at ~35ish mph, it was just chugging the engine too much. I found 42 mph for 4th gear to work nicely.

    I never mess with 3rd gear lockup speeds, because I never drive around in 3rd gear. It's all personal preference.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. tuning for convertor
    By TA98 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 06:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •