Tune for LS1 in Jeep - Cincinnati

This is a discussion on Tune for LS1 in Jeep - Cincinnati within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hey guys, I bought an 98 LS1 out of a TA. It was an auto. I am putting it in ...

blue
    83 jeep scrambler

Tune for LS1 in Jeep - Cincinnati

Hey guys, I bought an 98 LS1 out of a TA. It was an auto. I am putting it in a jeep scrambler with a sm465 behind it. I am new to this motor and am in over my head, but how else will I learn. Anyway, I know I need to tune the ecu, but Im not exactly sure what for. Can anyone lend me a hand or point me in the right direction?

Wow small world. I did an LT1/4L60E in my 82 Scrambler. I went with Howell Management systems for the retrofit kit. It made it easy, with a custom made harness labeled with factory weather pack connectors, and it came with an F-body computer that already had their custom tune done according to the engine specs I had,,,,and I must say it's been absolutely flawless and the tune is nearly spot on. Makes the swap a breeze. Fresh motor fired right up on the first hit of the key. I couldn't be more happy with it. They even did a speed density tune for me so I didn't have to fiddle with trying to fit the MAF sensor in the air intake track,,,,as things were getting tight.

If you are trying to use an existing Fbody harness and computer, things will be tough trying to sort out wiring you won't need and stuff, and to be honest I don't like the idea of a hacked up used harness,,,but I guess it comes down to what you can afford. The retrofit custom harness (everything new) and an Fbody computer with a custom tune was around $800 but well worth it to me.
    If you want a custom tune with your existing parts here in the Cinci area where I am from,,,the only person off the top of my head I can think of is