Results 1 to 13 of 13

Torque management

This is a discussion on Torque management within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Do M6 trans have torque mgmt like A4 do??...

  1. #1

    Torque management

    Do M6 trans have torque mgmt like A4 do??

  2. #2
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    not in the trans section. there is in the engine management section.

  3. #3
    By section do you mean PCM tuning not the mechanical trans????

  4. #4
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    yes. engine management section of the PCM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member scv8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    12
    I'm considering an '05 GTO LS2 and PCM for a conversion, and I'm concerned that this can't be tuned out. Can it be completely eliminated, or would it be better to go with an LS1?

    Thank you

  6. #6
    Junior Member scv8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    12
    This would be an '05 GTO M6.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Awaiting Activation
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    LS1 land
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,667
    there is no torque managment on M6. And yes it can be tuned out if you have an auto.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    215
    I have read that TM exists with the M6 cars. http://forums.corvetteforum.com/show....php?t=1433999

    I have also read that it cannot be deleted completely but can be reduced by percentage. I don't have a direct link for that but by a search in other forums shows this is a common question.

  9. #9
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    it does exist. i have an M6 file open right in front of me for a 00 formula. there is nothing in the trans section, but as i said earlier, there is in the engine mangement section.

    using hptuners, you look in engine, torque management, spark retard vs torque reduction and there are values in the cells that determine how much percentage loss of torque. to get rid of it, you set all values to zero. this table references the max torque value to determine how much timing to remove to stay at that level. factory preset is 350 ft-lbs. so, if the computer calculates engine torque above that value, it will use the spark retard table to keep it under the max value.

    in the transmission management section, the abuse mode is set to disabled. all values are set to zero as well.
    Last edited by mrr23; 03-05-2007 at 05:16 AM.

  10. #10
    Awaiting Activation
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    LS1 land
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,667
    Quote Originally Posted by mrr23 View Post
    it does exist. i have an M6 file open right in front of me for a 00 formula. there is nothing in the trans section, but as i said earlier, there is in the engine mangement section.

    using hptuners, you look in engine, torque management, spark retard vs torque reduction and there are values in the cells that determine how much percentage loss of torque. to get rid of it, you set all values to zero. this table references the max torque value to determine how much timing to remove to stay at that level. factory preset is 350 ft-lbs. so, if the computer calculates engine torque above that value, it will use the spark retard table to keep it under the max value.

    in the transmission management section, the abuse mode is set to disabled. all values are set to zero as well.
    guess i learned something new. Looking forward to having mine removed when i tune now!

  11. #11
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    no problem.

  12. #12
    What year did GM start using torque mgmt and was it for chev pont cadilac etc A4 and M5 and M6. I read somewhere they originally developed it for trucks??

  13. #13
    Well I had my TM turned off in my PCM yesterday and now it seems like the clutch slips on fast high rpm shifts. Anyone with M6 have a problem after deleting torque management????

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Torque Management ?
    By FASTEDDIE Z in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 12:48 AM
  2. Help: Torque management how to take it off.
    By Quick_burk_GTO in forum GTO
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-21-2008, 07:32 AM
  3. Torque Management??
    By Mr. CarelessAndImprudent in forum GTO
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-04-2008, 06:08 PM
  4. Torque Management
    By LETHALxLS1 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 05:52 PM
  5. torque management on or off
    By ggino85 in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2007, 12:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •