Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 23 of 23

Torque Management

This is a discussion on Torque Management within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Q: So it spark retards even with an M6? I can see spark retard to prevent knock but to keep ...

  1. #21
    Exalted Cyclops 67CamaroRSSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,824

    2002 Z28 A4 NBM
    Sadly now demodded :(

    Q: So it spark retards even with an M6?

    I can see spark retard to prevent knock but to keep the M6 tranny inside it's torque capability? Or did I read that article wrong?

    As you might have guessed my "tuning" ability is more from an old school standpoint (I know carbs and dizzy's real good). What little I know about electronic tuning is from what I've picked up from friends.
    Last edited by 67CamaroRSSS; 03-04-2010 at 06:35 PM.

  2. #22
    Senior Member Z28Thunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Broken Arrow, Ok
    Age
    52
    Posts
    4,542

    Arctic White
    2000 Z28

    Quote Originally Posted by 67CamaroRSSS View Post
    Q: So it spark retards even with an M6?

    I can see spark retard to prevent knock but to keep the M6 tranny inside it's torque capability? Or did I read that article wrong?

    As you might have guessed my "tuning" ability is more from an old school standpoint (I know carbs and dizzy's real good). What little I know about electronic tuning is from what I've picked up from friends.
    I read it as spark retard. It also seemed the A4 has TM which can be turned off. The M6 has TR which is Torgue Reduction. I have never heard while duing a tone on a LS1 with a M6 that you need to turn the TM off.

  3. #23
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    as you can see there is a MAX TORQUE of 350 ft-lbs. the PCM calculates torque based on a couple of variables. those with hptuners can make a PID of it and monitor it. you'll notice that table is in engine management. so, if the PCM see over 350 ft-lbs of torque it will retard the timing.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Torque Management ?
    By FASTEDDIE Z in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 12:48 AM
  2. Help: Torque management how to take it off.
    By Quick_burk_GTO in forum GTO
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-21-2008, 07:32 AM
  3. Torque Management??
    By Mr. CarelessAndImprudent in forum GTO
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-04-2008, 06:08 PM
  4. Torque Management
    By LETHALxLS1 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 05:52 PM
  5. torque management on or off
    By ggino85 in forum Manual Transmission
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2007, 12:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •