Results 1 to 6 of 6

is there any way i can get my car to lurn the cam with out tune??

This is a discussion on is there any way i can get my car to lurn the cam with out tune?? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Hey i was wondering if there is any way i could get my car to lurn the cam i am ...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Age
    31
    Posts
    47

    sebring silver
    98 camaro SS

    is there any way i can get my car to lurn the cam with out tune??

    Hey i was wondering if there is any way i could get my car to lurn the cam i am putting in a 224/224 585 585 112LSA with out getting a dyno tune right away???

  2. #2
    Bombguy99Z28
    Guest
    It'll run fine. You just won't get as good mileage, emmissions, or horsepower as you would get with a good tune.

  3. #3
    Tech Junkie hammertime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belleville, IL
    Posts
    400

    Pewter Metallic
    2001 Camaro SS

    Are you running an A4 or M6? If you don't put a converter in with that cam, you might find that the engine wants to stall at stoplights until you get a tune. Best to consider a good tune just the same as any other mod - you spend some more $$$ to get all your other parts working well together and viola! You get more HP out of all your other parts with a proper tune.
    Hammer - hammertime.us
    2001 Light Pewter Metallic Camaro SS, 6 speed
    K&N, SLP Lid, SLP y-pipe, GMMG cat-back, Lou's Short Stick - more to come!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Chicago burbs
    Age
    31
    Posts
    47

    sebring silver
    98 camaro SS

    Ya i am going to get it tuned but i would like do to other little crap befor the tune so thats why i was asking the car is a M6

  5. #5
    Story of My Life!! BIG D's SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Commerce Ga
    Age
    40
    Posts
    4,995

    Black, Blue
    07 TBSS, 07 GSXR1000

    Mine wouldn't idle hardly when I did mine. It might be running a little lean which isn't good.
    3 inch Chambered Catback.

  6. #6
    Tech Junkie hammertime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Belleville, IL
    Posts
    400

    Pewter Metallic
    2001 Camaro SS

    Quote Originally Posted by nukemss
    Ya i am going to get it tuned but i would like do to other little crap befor the tune so thats why i was asking the car is a M6
    What kind of little crap are you going to do. I know I have a major hardon to stick a cam in my car, but I'm going to be getting HP Tuners this spring and learning the ins and outs of Editing before I start getting into anything serious.

    Might be best to consider what mods you want, which ones will require a tune and which ones won't necessarily, and group them together accordingly.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Custom tune, HP tuners, or PCMFORLESS TUNE
    By cancam99ss in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 10:09 PM
  2. Question: Frost tune or Dyno tune?
    By 90ARAPAJ in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-15-2012, 01:38 PM
  3. hypertech tune erase my dyno tune?
    By Z28LS1 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2009, 07:31 PM
  4. whats the diff with a full dyno tune and a street tune?
    By Justin23454 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-04-2007, 07:31 AM
  5. Handheld Tune?shop Tune? software running on my laptop tune?on my SS
    By showtimesteele99SS in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 06:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •