Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 60 of 60

Speed Density or Regular MAF Tune?

This is a discussion on Speed Density or Regular MAF Tune? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Originally Posted by Hi-Po I just got my HPtuners!!!!!!! Sadly, I have no damn laptop to hook it up with ...

  1. #41
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by Hi-Po View Post
    I just got my HPtuners!!!!!!! Sadly, I have no damn laptop to hook it up with yet!!!! Hoping friday I will have it!!! Im excited.

    I hope I can get a handle on the process Frost. After all, thats why I spent all this money, so I can tune my car myself... save some cash (in the long run) and have the satisfaction of doing it myself.
    throw the program in your home pc and have a look around......oh by the way, get a memory stick and have hptuners loaded on your home pc and laptop and copy and save every tune/retune.
    plus dont trust any laptop battery while flashing a calibration

  2. #42
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by mark21742 View Post
    you need the IAT sensor for reference in SD don't you?

    hey Frost, is there any way force the computer into SD without popping a MAF code, or do I have to hook it up to pass MD emissions?
    I calibrated the MAF, but throttle still seems crisper and slightly more power when I run in SD

    You can run a gutted MAF (electronics intact, but it doesn't matter what they report) and setup your dynamic airflow as shown in the pic below. You will be in SD with the MAF still plugged in. You cannot do this with EFI Live:

  3. #43
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    You can run a gutted MAF (electronics intact, but it doesn't matter what they report) and setup your dynamic airflow as shown in the pic below. You will be in SD with the MAF still plugged in. You cannot do this with EFI Live:
    thanks Frost!

  4. #44
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    You can run a gutted MAF (electronics intact, but it doesn't matter what they report) and setup your dynamic airflow as shown in the pic below. You will be in SD with the MAF still plugged in. You cannot do this with EFI Live:
    i used the table setup like this and for some reason with the setup im sitting at 11.4:1 a\f ratio...any ideas?

    i had LTFTs just about perfect, but today i logged and LTFT started out way off, then slowly works back to close to where i had it the primary VE set
    Last edited by mark21742; 02-25-2009 at 04:53 PM.

  5. #45
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    No, when using it, the tune always started with it setup like that from the beginning.

  6. #46
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    No, when using it, the tune always started with it setup like that from the beginning.
    ok, so using this setup, I go back in and retune the VE, or can I change a fuel adder?
    I tried logging fuel trims copy/paste special ( multi % by 1/2 across the VE table and it didn't make a difference.
    is there something I'm missing?

  7. #47
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    also, my coeff filters are different from the filters in that picture, could that make the difference?

  8. #48
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    I haven't used this on an 04, so it may take some playing with. I have used it with maybe 3 f-bodies. It's just a way to keep the PCM 'on the VE'. The filter Coeffs shouldn't make a difference for this.

  9. #49
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    ok if I unplug the MAF (even with it setup this way) fuel trims go to just about dead on. I get p0102 low maf curcuit.
    if I plug it in fuel trims go nuts, but I get no code.
    I'll sit down today and play with the numbers

  10. #50
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    i cant wait to get my LC-1 installed!

  11. #51
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Crash View Post
    i cant wait to get my LC-1 installed!
    after i hooked up the gauge ground and turned set the confg. file for it it was quick and easy lol

  12. #52
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by mark21742 View Post
    after i hooked up the gauge ground and turned set the confg. file for it it was quick and easy lol
    Can you have it hooked up to the gauge and hp tuners at the same time?

  13. #53
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Crash View Post
    Can you have it hooked up to the gauge and hp tuners at the same time?
    i have it hooked up to a narrowband gauge at the same time as hptuners

  14. #54
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by mark21742 View Post
    i have it hooked up to a narrowband gauge at the same time as hptuners
    is there a diff between a narrow and wide band gauge?

  15. #55
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Crash View Post
    is there a diff between a narrow and wide band gauge?
    narrow tells lean or rich maybe 14:1-15.5:1 a\f, wideband tells you how lean and how rich 10:1-20+:1a/f

  16. #56
    TJEA Retirement Home Dr.Crash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    U. S And A Greatest country in all of world
    Posts
    3,383

    Stock
    2002 Camaro

    Quote Originally Posted by mark21742 View Post
    narrow tells lean or rich maybe 14:1-15.5:1 a\f, wideband tells you how lean and how rich 10:1-20+:1a/f
    can i use the wide band i bought or do i need to get another one?

  17. #57
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Crash View Post
    can i use the wide band i bought or do i need to get another one?
    the lc-1 has two outputs, hopefully Frost will jump back in and say if you can use both at the same time

  18. #58
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    you can use both outputs at the same time. You have to set them up correctly. I would personally let the stock narrowbands do their job and use the wideband seperate.

  19. #59
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    Quote Originally Posted by 0rion View Post
    you can use both outputs at the same time. You have to set them up correctly. I would personally let the stock narrowbands do their job and use the wideband seperate.
    but can ou hookup a wideband gauge and hptuners to the same wideband output at the time?

  20. #60
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by mark21742 View Post
    but can ou hookup a wideband gauge and hptuners to the same wideband output at the time?
    not that I'm aware of. The lc-1 has 2 outputs so I can use one for the gauge and the other to log with.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 1 Bar Speed Density tune
    By kogelch in forum GM Trucks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2012, 06:07 PM
  2. speed density or maf tune
    By 65ls1 in forum Forced Induction
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 12-21-2007, 06:10 AM
  3. Needing a Tune Speed Density or Maf ?
    By blewbyu in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2007, 09:25 AM
  4. Finally going Speed Density Tune Only...
    By HUGGER ORANGE SS in forum Rocky Mountain Members
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 10-10-2007, 03:19 PM
  5. MAF VS Speed Density Tune!
    By phoenix1987 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2007, 07:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •