Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Should I get an hp tuner?

This is a discussion on Should I get an hp tuner? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Originally Posted by Durango I would say so seems a little overwhelming I just ordered a Tune From Frost lol ...

  1. #21
    Veteran 0rion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    22,520

    98 Formula
    06 duramax

    Quote Originally Posted by Durango View Post
    I would say so seems a little overwhelming I just ordered a Tune From Frost lol But I'm hoping to order an HP Tuner in the future
    you just have to read a lot and ask a lot of questions. The scanner really helps you the most....it makes your job much much easier. That's why I always say people should spend a good amount of time learning that before worrying about the tune side of it.

  2. #22
    Member TA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    863

    Black
    1998 Trans Am

    Orion, its really quite similar. more detailed, yes. but its still the same idea from the SCT charts ive seen

  3. #23
    Member marksls1ta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    pikeville, kentucky
    Posts
    701

    black
    1998 trans am

    where you guys ordering the HP Tuners at?

    I would like to see if I can help out any on credits.


    Thanks,
    Mark

    KYSpeed.com | FREE SHIPPING & HANDLING | PRICE MATCH | EMAIL

    Kook's | American Racing Headers | Vararam | HallTech | Textralia | SPEC | McLeod | Raptor | Trick Flow | AFR | ECS
    | FAST | APS | TTi | Procharger | RPM Transmission | Comp | DMH | HP Tuners | PFADT | SLP | STS

  4. #24
    Member TA98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    863

    Black
    1998 Trans Am

    i got mine through summit

  5. #25
    Junior Member vicjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    McAllen TX
    Posts
    17

    black
    2000 z28 camaro

    I got the pro and payed 650.00 and got 8 credits to tune 4 cars. I learned on my car and got loads of info on the hp forum. I tuned 3 other cars and charged for it , so it payed for it self . What reallt helped me is that i have a lot of experience doing diagnstics .

  6. #26
    🤔 11s. blackbirdbrain89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    hagerstown, mercersburg
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,844

    black trans am
    2000

    what ever u do... learn a ls1 car.....

    i went from my 00 ta to my gfs 08 g8 gt and omg. i have to relarn 3/4 of the stuff... and theres a ton more stuff to look at....

    i tune my car in SD mode.. and that seems to be the hard way on the newer cars

  7. #27
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by blackbirdbrain89 View Post
    what ever u do... learn a ls1 car.....

    i went from my 00 ta to my gfs 08 g8 gt and omg. i have to relarn 3/4 of the stuff... and theres a ton more stuff to look at....

    i tune my car in SD mode.. and that seems to be the hard way on the newer cars
    I'm finding that out too. I tuned my wifes 00 SS in SD and left it that way,,very easy and it runs so much better.

    I'm wanting to tune the LQ4 6.0 swap I'm doing in a blazer in SD as well. Evidently it's not so easy, since the IAT's are part of the MAF, so you can't just remove it easily. I haven't figured this one out yet. Even Howell didn't want to SD tune it when I ordered the computer and harness.
    Last edited by Firebirdjones; 03-24-2011 at 08:24 PM.

  8. #28
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebirdjones View Post
    I'm finding that out too. I tuned my wifes 00 SS in SD and left it that way,,very easy and it runs so much better.

    I'm wanting to tune the LQ4 6.0 swap I'm doing in a blazer in SD as well. Evidently it's not so easy, since the IAT's are part of the MAF, so you can't just remove it easily. I haven't figured this one out yet. Even Howell didn't want to SD tune it when I ordered the computer and harness.
    You can run a breakout harness (5 to 3 and 2 at the MAF connector) or even cut into the harness and use an F-body style individual IAT sensor. Alternately, you can set fail freq to 0Hz, set the disable point to the moon, and wipe out the MAF table (leave 12g @ 0Hz) to verify SD with the MAF still plugged in.

  9. #29
    Moderator Firebirdjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    12,552
    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    You can run a breakout harness (5 to 3 and 2 at the MAF connector) or even cut into the harness and use an F-body style individual IAT sensor. Alternately, you can set fail freq to 0Hz, set the disable point to the moon, and wipe out the MAF table (leave 12g @ 0Hz) to verify SD with the MAF still plugged in.
    I knew if there was a way you would know Frost, I just haven't gotten that far yet so I didn't bother to ask.

    I would much rather integrate an F-body style IAT sensor since I am custom making an air intake setup anyway, wouldn't be hard. What I need to figure out is which wires are the IAT in the MAF harness.

    Or if I'm understanding what you are describing correctly by failing the MAF in the tune and leaving the MAF plugged in,,,,will it still read IAT temps through the MAF that way??

    Because I'm trying to figure out how I'm even going to tune the VE tables when it's up and running, disabling the MAF yet still being able to read IAT's? It has me puzzled.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help: 94 OBD-I C.A.T.S Tuner
    By Adam_94_T/A in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-20-2009, 06:54 PM
  2. Wanted: HP Tuner
    By ledesma54 in forum Parts Wanted / Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-21-2008, 08:08 PM
  3. Best Tuner
    By polarischevy05 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-24-2008, 08:41 PM
  4. cranecams tuner and Predator Tuner???
    By jakef777 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2007, 07:41 PM
  5. Diablo sport tuner or hypertech tuner.........
    By clg82 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-21-2007, 10:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •