Results 1 to 12 of 12

SD and dynamic airflow question

This is a discussion on SD and dynamic airflow question within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; here's a good one. while perusing the tables i had a random thought. seeing as i removed the MAF and ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    SD and dynamic airflow question

    here's a good one. while perusing the tables i had a random thought. seeing as i removed the MAF and now in CLSD, in the dynamic airflow table the MAF takes over at 4000 rpms to do airmass prediction calculations. i think this should be set above my rpm range as there are no MAF readings to do this with anymore.

    also, my second question, according to hptuners scanner, the MAF is reading a default value of 3.53 g/sec. is this skewing anything. here's pic of the dynamic airflow area i am refering to

    Last edited by mrr23; 09-29-2008 at 08:25 AM.

  2. #2
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    have you run and loged with the maf hooked up and logged with the maf unplugged in SD mode? if so did you have any changes in your logs, for better or worse?
    its amazing how much one little change in one block can effect things in oeplaces isnt it

  3. #3
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    back when i had a MAf on, i did VE Tuning then turned the MAF back on. with my current setup, the MAF diameter is too small and i now stay MAFless.

  4. #4
    cutting and welding mark21742's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    mercersburg pa
    Posts
    6,443

    hugger orange
    2004

    personally it took alot of time to tune it the way i wanted it but i don't even have a maf anymore, just a 4" homemade cold air intake off the throttle body that runs down behind the drivers sdie driving light with a ram air duct forcing air into the cone air filter. I just run in SD all the time....and yes its a daily driver

  5. #5
    Junior Member edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    98
    As long as the MAF table is zeroed, and the fail is set to 0, the MAF has no look up, so the dynamic cyl air look up is null. On my scanner, with the table zeroed, I can log Hz and airflow with the MAF hooked up and get Hz counts and 0.0 for airflow. I've never seen a default value for the MAF airflow.
    I'll see if I can't dig up a screen shot from a datalog.

  6. #6
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    ok i need to zero out the MAF table. makes sense.

  7. #7
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    I zero'd the MAF table on the veryh first SD car that I did, but never have since, and I don't seem to get any interference from not doing so. The High RPM Disable function should be null when the MAF is failed anyway; I'm sure that is base coding.

  8. #8
    Junior Member edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by Frost View Post
    I zero'd the MAF table on the veryh first SD car that I did, but never have since, and I don't seem to get any interference from not doing so. The High RPM Disable function should be null when the MAF is failed anyway; I'm sure that is base coding.
    I know some people do, some don't. I always have. I agree the high rpm disable should be null if the maf is failed.
    I would think that would be the only reason he's seeing a default value on his scanner though.
    You ever log MAF airflow in SD and see what it says? I know with the table zeroed it says 0.0

  9. #9
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    i asked on hptuners forum and i was told by foff667 this
    Quote Originally Posted by foff667
    Yes if you are scanning maf while you have the maf disabled or removed it WILL skew the cell that you are in histogram/graph/gauge displays. This is why it is highly recommended to remove this pid from your table display if it is not accurate.

    As for the dynamic airflow, I never mess with it unless I'm still running the maf sensor, although I've seen some tuners set it higher just to make sure it is using ve while in SD mode.
    http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20221

    here's a screenshot of my log


  10. #10
    Token V6 Guy
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Trenton/NJ/US
    Age
    41
    Posts
    336

    Silver
    2000 Grand Prix GTP

    Quote Originally Posted by mrr23 View Post
    i asked on hptuners forum and i was told by foff667 this

    http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20221

    here's a screenshot of my log

    Click for full size
    Yeah I think Ed & Frost are talking about the editor not the scanner in this instance.
    Support for HPTuners

  11. #11
    TunedbyFrost.com Tuner Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Richmond VA
    Posts
    2,415

    LS1.com Sponsor
    GM Tuner

    I don't scan for the MAF at all when doing SD tuning as it is known to cause some issues. DCA and FTC will replace it for air-mass references such as spark.

  12. #12
    Junior Member edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    98
    I've logged tuning in SD with the MAF airflow and Hz in the pids, and have noticed the Hz is still counting, active, whatever, but the airflow says 0.0.
    I've never seen a default value like in your screen shot. Odd........

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: dynamic motorsports1.3 lowering springs and bilstien shock?
    By devildogws6 in forum Suspension and Handling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2012, 03:26 PM
  2. Question: Dynamic Design's War Bird kit
    By +EF5 in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2010, 01:57 PM
  3. Dynamic Control Car Kits, Cold Air Intake And More
    By Ed Blown Vert in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 10:10 PM
  4. Dynamic Designs?
    By 2002FormulaBlackbird in forum Appearance Section
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-07-2008, 08:06 PM
  5. JET Performance Dynamic Spectrum Tuner
    By TedsB4Csled in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2008, 07:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •