Results 1 to 8 of 8

Programming shift points 98 T/A 4l60e

This is a discussion on Programming shift points 98 T/A 4l60e within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; Can someone help me out here, I'm using EFILive tuning software, and I cant seem to get the trans to ...

  1. #1
    Member 98ls1blackbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Jenison, Mi
    Posts
    159

    Black
    1998 Trans am

    Programming shift points 98 T/A 4l60e

    Can someone help me out here, I'm using EFILive tuning software, and I cant seem to get the trans to shift into 3rd gear when I want it to. I have the mph set low so I can control it with rpm. 1st to second is spot on at 6000 rpm but the 2nd to 3rd shift goes to 6440 before it shifts, I have it set to shift at 5900 rpm's. I had to raise the rev limiter to 6500 because it was hitting it. My motor is pretty much stock so it is nosing over above 6000 rpm's and it is costing me et, not to mention, I dont want to wind it that high.
    Is there another table that can be taking over and not letting it shift. I'm new at this and just learning. Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    sounds like you might be having 3/4 clutch pack issues. you can raise the line pressure for the 2-3 shift to compensate.

  3. #3
    Member 98ls1blackbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Jenison, Mi
    Posts
    159

    Black
    1998 Trans am

    Hmmmmm? I havent changed the shift pressures yet, only reduced the torque reduction. What do the 3-4 clutches have to do with the 2-3 shift?

  4. #4
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    two things have to happen to shift from 2nd to 3rd. the 2-4 band has to let go of the drum (this is 2nd gear) and the 3-4 clutch pack (has 6 clutches) has to engage to make 3rd gear happen. if the clearances are too large between the clutches (from excessive wear), it takes longer to engage the clutches together. whe nthis happens, they keep slipping and you bang off the rev limitier because they won't fully engage.

    for 4th to happen, the 2-4 band re-engages onto the forward drum.

  5. #5
    Member 98ls1blackbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Jenison, Mi
    Posts
    159

    Black
    1998 Trans am

    Thanks, that makes much more sense now. Guess its time for a new trans this winter. Bad things happen to the drivetrain when you start running 12's.

  6. #6
    car enthusiast djvaly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philly area
    Posts
    9,863
    at 11s even worse.

  7. #7
    Member 98ls1blackbird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Jenison, Mi
    Posts
    159

    Black
    1998 Trans am

    I can only imagine, but hopefully I'll be there next year when I get rid of the ls1 intake and the stock cam.
    98 Trans Am, A4, 3.73, 3200 Vigilante, LCA's, reloc brackets, sfc's, panhard bar, adjustable torque arm, XS long tube headers, ORY, SLP CNC ported heads and all the free mods tuned with EFILive.
    Best 1/4 et 12.53
    Best 1/4 mph 107.78
    Best 60' 1.71

  8. #8
    Junior Member edcmat-l1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by 98ls1blackbird View Post
    Can someone help me out here, I'm using EFILive tuning software, and I cant seem to get the trans to shift into 3rd gear when I want it to. I have the mph set low so I can control it with rpm. 1st to second is spot on at 6000 rpm but the 2nd to 3rd shift goes to 6440 before it shifts, I have it set to shift at 5900 rpm's. I had to raise the rev limiter to 6500 because it was hitting it. My motor is pretty much stock so it is nosing over above 6000 rpm's and it is costing me et, not to mention, I dont want to wind it that high.
    Is there another table that can be taking over and not letting it shift. I'm new at this and just learning. Thanks for your help.
    If you can email me your tune and a run log, I might be able to set it up for you. I tune with efilive and hpt. Email me at edcmat-l1@msn.com and I'll give you a link to my site. Cant post it cause I'm not a sponsor.
    I'll tell you how I need the log configured.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. shift points
    By *JC* in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-01-2009, 05:11 AM
  2. new shift points
    By ssmike in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2008, 12:04 PM
  3. Shift points on an 01-02 4L60E
    By Firebirdjones in forum General Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2007, 09:32 AM
  4. Shift Points on A4
    By FantaZGuy28 in forum Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2006, 01:54 PM
  5. 323's to 373's shift points
    By Andy Lappin in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-19-2006, 01:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •