Results 1 to 14 of 14

performance mode?

This is a discussion on performance mode? within the Computer & Tuning forums, part of the LSx Technical Help Section category; hey, how do you put the car from "normal" to "peformance" mode? in hptuners, there are different shift points for ...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    524

    Black/Black
    '00 Firebird WS6 T/A

    performance mode?

    hey, how do you put the car from "normal" to "peformance" mode?

    in hptuners, there are different shift points for normal and performance, and some other things seem to be alterable by this as well. anybody use this or have any experience with it?

  2. #2
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    those are tables for those vehicles equipped with the performance mode button.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    524

    Black/Black
    '00 Firebird WS6 T/A

    awww... i want it!

    in all seriousness, this was an actual option? my v6 had the performance mode tables too.

  4. #4
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    yes, my 94 formula had the button. some get the second gear start button. if you notice, you have tables for both auto and manual trans.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    524

    Black/Black
    '00 Firebird WS6 T/A

    how would one go about adding the button? it would be pretty handy as far as nitrous use shift point reduction or just if you want to keep it tame most of the time...

  6. #6
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    have to get the wiring diagrams to wire it to the PCM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member sreve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    St. Louis Area
    Posts
    38

    Black
    '02 B4C Camaro

    this is something i have done some research on and definatly want to do.
    performance mode tables are used on pick ups for tow haul mode. the bcm enables it
    via class 2 serial data to the pcm. add a wire to the bcm to a monentary switch from a late model G van (tow-haul switch is on the dash) and your in.
    BUT!! you have to program the bcm to enable these tables.
    i saw something a while back about a guy that was doing something with the bcm for a shift light on GTO m6 cars. like a dumb ass i did not subscribe to the thread. do not even remember the forum, as i belong to many. he was in the north east PENN. i think.
    find the way to program the bcm i'll post up the pin outs

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    524

    Black/Black
    '00 Firebird WS6 T/A

    found it. Copy & Paste.

    http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8887

    also, I cannot for the life of me find the dam connector they r talking about. would there be any reason for its absence on a 2000 T/A WS-6?

  9. #9
    Member jag42420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Age
    43
    Posts
    525

    Silver
    2002 WS6 Trans Am

    I thought the pcm switched from normal to performance tables at a certain throttle? Wow. If you could use a switch to switch tables, you could tune normal for mileage and efficiency and performance for power. Like Superman and Clark Kent

  10. #10
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by richard head View Post
    found it. Copy & Paste.

    http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8887

    also, I cannot for the life of me find the dam connector they r talking about. would there be any reason for its absence on a 2000 T/A WS-6?
    it's just how the car was ordered from the factory.

  11. #11
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    Quote Originally Posted by jag42420 View Post
    I thought the pcm switched from normal to performance tables at a certain throttle? Wow. If you could use a switch to switch tables, you could tune normal for mileage and efficiency and performance for power. Like Superman and Clark Kent

    there are normal, cruise, and WOT tables for shifting. then there's the performance tables.

  12. #12
    Member jag42420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Age
    43
    Posts
    525

    Silver
    2002 WS6 Trans Am

    I still the tuning newbie...learning more everyday...

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    524

    Black/Black
    '00 Firebird WS6 T/A

    I solved the problem. High pressure over about 280 ft-lbs, 2/3 over 320 and full pressure over 340. Shifts hard as hell at WOT and soft as hell at idle/lo throttle openings.

  14. #14
    Senior Member mrr23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    orlando, fl
    Posts
    7,134

    dark bowling green
    2000 corvette

    there you go

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. performance mode/torque converter
    By MotorDogStar in forum Firebird / WS6
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 10:14 PM
  2. Performance mode switch
    By jag42420 in forum Computer & Tuning
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-21-2007, 08:31 AM
  3. performance mode switch?
    By NE98LS1 in forum Automatic Transmission
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 09-10-2006, 09:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •